Library Guides: Music: Scholarly Articles and Books

Article Databases

Databases
Searching for Articles

Databases are multidisciplinary collections of scholarly resources. Most databases gather links to and citations for scholarly articles, although some contain additional information on books and other resources.

RILM abstracts of music literature (Full Text) This link opens in a new window
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text expands and enhances the unrivaled global bibliography of writings on music with content from nearly 250 key periodicals published from the early 20th century to the present. It offers articles and reviews as well as obituaries, editorials, correspondence, advertisements, and news in full text, which can be searched and browsed for each issue, cover to cover. Each year new journals are being added to the full-text collection.
Music index online This link opens in a new window
Searchable database that indexes journal articles on classical, popular, and all styles and genres of music from more than 800 international music periodicals.
RIPM online archive of music periodicals (Full Text) This link opens in a new window
"RIPM Online Archive of Music Periodicals (FullTEXT) is a unique collection of primary source material ... for the study of music and musical life from approximately 1800 to 1950. It is also the only extensive collection available online for music periodicals dating from the Early Romantic to the Modern period, from Beethoven to Bartók and from Schubert to Stravinsky. With a growing collection of ... rarely available journals selected by international specialists, the RIPM Online Archive offers an almost daily chronicle of musical activities, and immense possibilities for original research. RIPM Online Archive is a full-text version of journals indexed in RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals."
Music periodicals database (formerly International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) fulltext) This link opens in a new window
"provides indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus full text for more than 140 of the indexed journals... Covers the full spectrum of subjects and all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition."--Search page.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library for scholars, researchers, and students. Contains digitized current and many back issues of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
Bloomsbury popular music This link opens in a new window
"An invaluable resource for a broad range of Arts and Humanities subjects, Bloomsbury Popular Music provides comprehensive and authoritative information about all genres of popular music worldwide, from the early 20th century to the present day."-- Website.

Tips for searching for articles:

Use the "Advanced Search" feature in these databases to filter out book/concert reviews and articles in specific languages.
Use wildcards or truncate: If you use an asterisk (*) you can get all variants of a word. Searching symphon* will provide results of symphony, symphonies and symphonic- every word that starts with the letters before the asterisk. Using a question mark(?) in the middle of the world will return words that have any letter in that space: a search of wom?n will return both woman and women.
After choosing an article you want to read, click the button at the top left of the record page in order to locate the article in print at our library or in another online database. If there isn't a "Find Text" option, the article may still be available. Try searching the catalog normally for the title.

Books

These resources will help you find e-books and print held by Notre Dame, other local libraries, or books held at other libraries worldwide. If you can't find a book at Notre Dame or its partner libraries in the ND Catalog, try searching the catalogs of 9000 OCLC partner institutions through Worldcat. The Hathi Trust is another sizeable consortial collection of digitized books.

Hesburgh Libraries Online Catalog (ND Catalog)
ND Catalog lets you search the holdings of the Hesburgh Libraries, Kresge Law, and Holy Cross libraries' catalogs separately or together. It includes content from the University Archives, the Center for Research Libraries, and working papers from the Institute for Latino Studies.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
A worldwide union catalog created and maintained collectively by more than 9,000 OCLC member institutions. With millions of online records built from the bibliographic and ownership information of contributing libraries, it is the largest and most comprehensive database of its kind.
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A digital repository for the nation's great research libraries that brings together the immense collections of its partner institutions. It was initially conceived as a collaboration of the thirteen universities of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation, the University of California system, and the University of Virginia to establish a repository for those universities to archive and share their digitized collections, and quickly expanded to include additional partners with fast growing treasure of digitized collections.

Bibliographies & Discographies

Bibliographies collect publication information for books, articles, and other resources on a particular subject. Some include annotations with additional details about the publications' contents. They have a narrower focus, covering a topic, movement, person, geographic location, or era.

Oxford bibliographies online. Music This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on musicology and ethnomusicology. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Jazz discography This link opens in a new window
General discography of all categories of recorded jazz, from 1896 to today. Covers all categories of jazz and other creative improvised music, including Traditional, Swing, Bop, Modern, Avant-Garde, Fusion, Third Stream, etc. Usage info: Licensed for 2 simultaneous users.

Theses and Dissertations

These resources will help you find unpublished theses and dissertations, which present an author's research and findings as part of their degree candidacy or professional qualification.

ProQuest Digital Dissertations This link opens in a new window
Provides information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses, with subject, title, and author access to almost all American dissertations accepted at an accredited institution since 1861. Offers full text for most dissertations (Notre Dame and other) added since 1997. Access info: Access to full text (PDF) of Notre Dame dissertations since 1997, restricted to users with valid Notre Dame NetIDs.

CurateND
Collect your work in CurateND and share it with a worldwide audience.