Since the U.S. federal government does not collect religious statistics and generally observes the First Amendment "Separation of Church and State," U.S government documents are best used for background information on public issues.
Documents: reports, miscellaneous publications, memoranda, letters, both public and internal
Finding tool for electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government. Provides direct links to publications that are available online. With more than 500,000 records generated since July 1976, the catalog will grow to include records for publications dating back to the late 1800s. Online counterpart of the Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications (printed version ceased with Dec. 2004). The Monthly Catalog should be consulted for pre-1976 indexing.
"online access to over 500,000 pages of previously classified government documents. Covering major international events from the Cold War to the Vietnam War and beyond, this single source enables users to locate key information underpinning studies in international relations, American studies, United States foreign and domestic policy studies, journalism and more."--Provider's description. Usage info: Licensed for 2 simultaneous users.
The State Department's mission is to shape and sustain a peaceful, prosperous, just, and democratic world and foster conditions for stability and progress for the benefit of the American people and people everywhere.
Declassified U.S. Government documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act by the National Security Archive, an independent non-governmental research institute and library at George Washington University. The Digital National Security Archive provides enhanced access to a selected portion of the NSA collection.
Official diplomatic record of U.S. relations with other countries. Contains important speeches, communiques, and other communications of State Department officials and diplomats. There is a delay (approximately 30-40 years) in the release of information as it becomes declassified.
A Federated search system developed by Ex Libris Group. MetaLib conducts simultaneous searches in multiple, and often heterogeneous, information resources such as library catalogs, journal articles, newspapers and selected quality Internet resources.
"Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers ... periodicals, academic journals and other content ... provides full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals ... indexing and abstracts for more than 400 journals."--Provider's description.
Provides access to more than 70 million pages of legal history available in full-text. Journals offer comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 1,600 law and law-related periodicals and contain exact page images of the documents in PDF format as they appear in the original print.
Contains: Current digitized Security Council documents; digitized documents of other UN bodies;
links to other UN libraries and resources. Note: See especially "About Dag Depository" and its links to additional resources.
The only tripartite U.N. agency, since 1919 the ILO brings together governments, employers and workers representatives of 187 member States , to set labour standards, develop policies and devise programmes promoting decent work for all women and men.
UNICEF works in 190 countries and territories to protect the rights of every child. UNICEF has spent 70 years working to improve the lives of children and their families. Defending children's rights throughout their lives requires a global presence, aiming to produce results and understand their effects.
UNESCO is responsible for coordinating international cooperation in education, science, culture and communication. It strengthens the ties between nations and societies, and mobilizes the wider public.
Aims to build a better, healthier future for people all over the world. Working through offices in more than 150 countries, WHO staff work side by side with governments and other partners to ensure the highest attainable level of health for all people.
The World Trade Organization (WTO) is the only global international organization dealing with the rules of trade between nations. At its heart are the WTO agreements, negotiated and signed by the bulk of the world’s trading nations and ratified in their parliaments. The goal is to ensure that trade flows as smoothly, predictably and freely as possible.
University of Michigan Library Research Guides. Search the full text of this site. Results will link to pages containing your terms; results from subject page searches are automatically filtered by that subject.
University of Michigan Library Research Guides. Search the full text of this site. Results will link to pages containing your terms; results from subject page searches are automatically filtered by that subject
Fully searchable database of primary source documents from the British National Archives that chronicle the politics, wars, administration, and diplomacy surrounding the Palestine Mandate and the Arab-Israeli conflict. (The first in Cengage Learning's new series The Middle East Online.)
Full text searchable collection of the papers issued by the House of Commons from 1801 to the early years of the 21st century: Bills, Reports of Committees, Reports of Commissioners, Accounts and Papers and Command Papers (included within the Reports of Commissioners and Accounts and Papers). Includes Peter Cockton's Subject catalogue of the House of Commons Parliamentary papers, 1801-1900.
A fully searchable collection of the complete Cabinet Conclusion files from the Stormont Administration in Belfast, from its start following the Government of Ireland Act of 1920 to the reintroduction of direct rule from Westminster by British Prime Minister Edward Heath in 1972. The Cabinet Conclusion files document every debate and transaction for the entire period and have been described as the best continuous record of government activity and decision-making in the world. Separate files exist for each Cabinet Meeting and include minutes and memoranda.
Global movement of more than 7 million people who take injustice personally. We are campaigning for a world where human rights are enjoyed by all. Through our detailed research and determined campaigning, we help fight abuses of human rights worldwide. We bring torturers to justice. Change oppressive laws. And free people jailed just for voicing their opinion.