Library Guides: Nigeria: Post-Colonial History, Politics, Life and Culture: Books and Scholarly Articles

Books

These resources will help you find e-books and print held by Notre Dame, other local libraries, or books held at other libraries worldwide.

Hesburgh Libraries Online Catalog (ND Catalog)
ND Catalog lets you search the holdings of the Hesburgh Libraries, Kresge Law, and Holy Cross libraries' catalogs separately or together. It includes content from the University Archives, the Center for Research Libraries, and working papers from the Institute for Latino Studies.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
A worldwide union catalog created and maintained collectively by more than 9,000 OCLC member institutions. It is the largest and most comprehensive database of its kind.

Center for Research Libraries (CRL)
CRL is an international consortium of university, college, and independent research libraries. It supports original research and inspired teaching in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences by preserving and making available to scholars a wealth of rare and uncommon primary source materials from all world regions.

Article Databases

Databases are multidisciplinary collections of scholarly resources. Most databases gather links to and citations for scholarly articles, although some contain additional information on books and other resources. The print versions of the databases were often called "indexes."

Multidisciplinary, All Purpose Databases (including scholarly and popular publications).

OneSearch
Hesburgh Libraries search facility which searches multiple databases including the catalog and many indexing, abstracting and full-text databases.

Gale Academic OneFile Select This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing, abstracts, and selected full text for 3,500+ scholarly journals and general interest periodicals embracing all academic disciplines (citations only for The New York Times). Search can be limited to book reviews.

Multidisciplinary Scholarly Databases -- Best Bets

Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts with some full text, covering such topics as anthropology, sociology, political science, communication, education, criminology, demography, economics and more.
Peace research abstracts This link opens in a new window
The only index specifically addressing peace, conflict and justice studies issues.

Multidisciplinary Scholarly Databases -- Other

PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Contains citations and abstracts of articles, books, government publications, research reports and conference papers on issues of social and public policies. PAIS (originally, the Public Affairs Information Service) includes content from two databases: PAIS International and PAIS Archive.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library for scholars, researchers, and students. Contains digitized current and many back issues of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
Project Muse : scholarly journals online This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from journals in history and the humanities, the social sciences, and the sciences. Disciplines covered include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. A brief bibliographic description of each title is given. Searches can be conducted across the full text of all journals in the database.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Accesses multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. The databases are indexed so you can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.
Periodicals index online This link opens in a new window
This a database of millions of citations for articles published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Using this link limits results to academic websites and shows links to items available at Notre Dame.

Selected Single Discipline Databases Relevant for Nigeria

-- Anthropology

Anthropological literature This link opens in a new window
Coverage includes core anthropology and archaeology journals as well as interdisciplinary resources.
Abstracts in Anthropology This link opens in a new window
... Provides a thorough coverage of anthropological scholarship in all its subfields: Cultural Anthropology, Physical Anthropology, Archaeology, and Linguistics.

--- Education

Education abstracts full text This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts articles from English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks on education. Subject coverage includes adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods, etc.
Proquest education journals This link opens in a new window
Covers the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education as well as special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.

--- Gender / Women's Studies

GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
"GenderWatch is a full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community, and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and NGO, government and special reports." --Publisher's description.
Gale OneFile. Contemporary women's issues. This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to more than 1500 sources (including some 150 periodicals, newsletters, and research reports from non-profit groups and government and international agencies) on a broad range of women's issues worldwide. Usage info: Licensed for 4 simultaneous users.

--- Health & Medicine

PubMed This link opens in a new window
A free search engine with FindText access to ND's electronic journals. Searches MEDLINE, the National Library of Medicine's database of citations/abstracts in the fields of medicine, plus additional selected life sciences journals not in MEDLINE.

--- History

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts of scholarly articles, books, and essays on European and world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Canada, which are covered in: America: History and Life). Usage info: Licensed for 6 simultaneous users.

--- Law

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 70 million pages of legal history available in full-text. Journals offer comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 1,600 law and law-related periodicals and contain exact page images of the documents in PDF format as they appear in the original print.

--- Political Science

Political Science Database This link opens in a new window

--- Religion / Theology

ATLA religion database with ATLASerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
Indexes international periodicals in the fields of religios and theological studies. Areas covered include Biblical studies, world religions, Church history, and religious perspectives on social issues. Includes a full range of index citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews from Religion Index One (RIO), Religion Index Two (RIT), and Index to Book Reviews in Religion (IBRR). It also includes content previously available in the ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index® (ATLA CPLI®). This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
Catholic Periodical and Literature Index (see: ATLA religion database with ATLASerials PLUS) This link opens in a new window
In 2018 the content of Catholic Periodical Literature Index (CPLI) became part of ATLA religion database with ATLASerials PLUS.
Index Islamicus online This link opens in a new window
Index to literature on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Includes citations to over 2,000 journals, conference proceedings, monographs, and book reviews from 1906 to present.

--- Sociology

Sociology Database This link opens in a new window
Covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, and substance abuse and addiction. Provides full-text coverage of scholarly journals and doctoral dissertations on sociology.
Sociological abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.

Gray Literature / Unpublished Scholarship

Ciao : Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
Contains searchable full text of international affairs working papers from university research institutes, conference proceedings, policy briefs, economic indicators, foundation-funded research projects and links to international affairs centers, institutes, and further resources.

International Relations and Security Network (ISN)
Working papers, policy briefs, etc. on inter and intra state conflict. (Swiss)

Bibliographies

Bibliographies collect publication information for books, articles, and other resources on a particular subject. Some include annotations with additional details about the publications' contents. They have a narrower focus, covering a topic, movement, person, geographic location, or era.

International bibliography of the social sciences This link opens in a new window
IBSS database covers international social science literature in disciplines of anthropology, economics, political science and sociology, as well as a wide range of interdisciplinary fields. Abstracts and indexes journal articles and books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951.
Oxford Bibliographies Online. International relations This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the study of foreign affairs and political interaction between states. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.

Political science
African studies
Anthropology
Geography
Sociology

Theses and Dissertations

These resources will help you find unpublished theses and dissertations, which present an author's research and findings as part of their degree candidacy or professional qualification.

ProQuest Digital Dissertations
Provides information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses, with subject, title, and author access to almost all American dissertations accepted at an accredited institution since 1861. Offers full text for most dissertations (Notre Dame and other) added since 1997. Access info: Access to full text (PDF) of Notre Dame dissertations since 1997, restricted to users with valid Notre Dame NetIDs.

CurateND
Collect your work in CurateND and share it with a worldwide audience.