Library Guides: Nigeria: Post-Colonial History, Politics, Life and Culture: News and Popular Press

News and Popular Press

Popular press resources such as newspapers and magazines are expert but non-scholarly sources that report basic facts and offer opinions. One benefit of these sources is that they are printed shortly after an event, but they do not reach the level of analysis necessary for scholarly work. These resources will provide background information or context. They will also assist in identifying key themes, participants, and events.

Contemporary News Sources

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Successor to Dow Jones News Service, Factiva provides access to global news and business information, including newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs. Usage info: Licensed for 4 simultaneous users. Access info: Historically Factiva only worked with IE version 5 or higher. Since then, several other browser options have been added.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni delivers unmatched depth and quality when it comes to content. With more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources, Nexis Uni helps students find credible sources including: Print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; Local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives; Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; Unparalleled business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S.

AllAfrica
AllAfrica aggregates, produces and distributes 800 news and information items daily from over 150 African news organizations and its own reporters to an African and global public.

World news connection This link opens in a new window
Provides English translations of news sources prepared by the U.S. government from around the world -- 1995-2013.

See Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports for 1947-1995 coverage.

Google

Google This link opens in a new window
Contains older (approximately > 3 months) news coverage from "point of view" and non-mainstream sources.

Google News
Google's aggregator service for current news. Useful for breaking new from a small number of standard / mainstream media sources; up to date.

Historical News Sources

Keesing's world news archive This link opens in a new window
Provides access to archive of original, accurate and objective news articles providing digestible but detailed summaries of world events, drawn from a wide range of press and other sources in a variety of languages. Digitized version of Keesing's contemporary archives, 1931-1986, and Keesing's record of world events, 1987-
Proquest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Includes full text of several newspapers of record including the Times of India, the Irish Times, the Guardian and the Observer, the Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, the Washington Post, the New York Times and several major regional U.S. publications.
African newspapers, 1800-1922 (from World Newspaper Archive with CRL) This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of historical African newspapers. Includes dozens of newspapers published between 1800 and 1922 in Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda, and Zimbabwe.
Times digital archive, 1785-1985 (London) This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of full-text and full-image articles from the Times of London for the years 1785-1985. Digital reproduction, cover to cover, of the paper in PDF files. Includes advertisements, illustrations, and photos.