Library Guides: Qualitative Research: Databases

Remote access

You can access library services off-campus using your Notre Dame NetID and/or your Irish1Card. A Notre Dame NetID is more important for remote access and allows you to access the large majority of our resources, regardless of your physical location.

Always start from the library catalog or the library homepage to access online resources.

NetID: Gives you access to online resources

Irish1Card (physical or digital): Gives you access to borrow physical items (depending on your card status/privileges)

Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library for scholars, researchers, and students. Contains digitized current and many back issues of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
MEDLINE (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE (via EBSCO) provides biomedical journal citations and abstracts.

Among the journals accessible through EBSCO’s MEDLINE subscription is Qualitative Health Research, which is a peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary publication “…that provides…a forum to enhance health care and further the development and understanding of qualitative research in health-care settings. QHR is an invaluable resource for researchers and academics, administrators and others in the health and social service professions, and graduates who seek examples of qualitative methods.”
PsycInfo (CSA) This link opens in a new window
PsycInfo is a ProQuest product. It contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.

The advanced search includes a “methodology” section in which “qualitative study” can be selected, as well as “focus group,” and “interview.”
PubMed This link opens in a new window
A free search engine with FindText access to ND's electronic journals. Searches MEDLINE, the National Library of Medicine's database of citations/abstracts in the fields of medicine, plus additional selected life sciences journals not in MEDLINE.
SAGE research methods. This link opens in a new window
Sage Research Methods is “a tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. Users can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and other areas of research.”

To view qualitative datasets in the platform, visit https://methods-sagepub-com.proxy.library.nd.edu/datasets.

Qualitative Research

ASK US!

ASK US!

Remote access

Databases