European Film Gateway pulls from 34 film archives across Europe, with access to the archives which hold the original content.`
Through the EFG1914 project, over 740 hours of WWI film are now accessible through EFG and Europeana.
“ ‘German Film in the First World War’ contextualizes the body of work now available, describes the development of German film production during wartime, and analyzes the rising significance of the medium.” The site is functionally available only in German.
Oxford collection. “The film collection holds an array of moving image items relating to the last three years of the war. Presently the collection includes excerpts from the original 1916 films The Battle of the Somme and The Battle of The Ancre, and footage from the Western and Home Fronts. The collection also holds modern day recordings of the locations in France and Belgium of sites of particular interest.”
Overshadowed by the so-called Good War that followed, the Great War-the First World War-captured the imagination of American writers both while the conflict was underway and during the decades that followed. As these authors struggled and, at times, fought with one another to define the war's elusive meaning, they produced a body of short fiction astonishing in its range of styles and themes. Some of the richest of these short stories, originally published in long-forgotten magazines and books, have remained lost-until now. The first collection of its kind, World War I in American Fiction brings together 26 stories to present a fuller picture of the war's immediate impact on American culture and its subsequent, deeply contested memory-highlighting the lingering effects of the war on veterans, women, and African Americans-and takes the reader from the contested skies over the Western Front to the influenza-ravaged American home front. Book jacket.
"The site features a collection of war-themed postal cards produced during World War 1 (1914 - 1919). Some 1,400 cards are displayed in an organized fashion. The cards are mementos of a world at war during the second decade of the 20th century."