Library Guides: ESTEEM: Company / Organization

Company Information

Resource on this page provide information on the organizational makeup, leadership, and financial performance of companies. When searching for company information, it is important to note whether or not the company of interest is private, public, or non-profit. This will greatly impact the search strategy for your research as public companies generally provide a greater access to their internal workings due to their SEC filing obligations. Most company profile databases will provide direct access to a company's annual filings, earnings reports, shareholder meeting transcripts, and other documents submitted to the SEC. Private companies lack these reports, and information around them is more often based around tracking private equity and venture capital deals in addition to estimates based on expert or insider analysis. For Private Company research, PitchBook is an excellent place to conduct your research.

Company web sites are also an excellent source of information. If you have a specific company, searching the name of the company followed the by phrase investor relations in Google will often bring up an investor relations platform with a lot of news, announcement, and financial information for a company. Note that not all companies provide this.

Recommended Resources

Capital IQ
Access via the Capital IQ icon when signed into okta.nd.edu.
Excel Plugin available for Windows OS. Instructions available here.
If you experience issues with access contact us at Ask a Business Librarian.

Provides access to data on public and private companies, investment firms, capital transactions, and executives. Great for financial statement analysis, comparable analysis, sector analysis, and charting.
PitchBook
Provides access to company profiles, private equity, and venture capital data. An excellent resource for analyzing the performance of Private Companies. Also provides access to a research library of market reports covering market areas that are trending in the venture capital and private equity space.
GuideStar Pro
Provides access to information the missions, programs, and finances of IRS-recognized nonprofit organizations.
Factiva
Licensed for 5 simultaneous users.
Provides access to current major news publications. Information can be directly filter by company through the following process, select 'Companies/Markets' tab from top, then 'Company.' Can quickly scan articles by specific topic about a company. Quick download of ‘Company Report’ in PDF.
Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis Nexis Academic)
Provides access to a variety of news sources, legal research, and business information on U.S. and international companies and their executive leadership. The ‘Company Info’ guided search includes brand, competitor, subsidiaries, intellectual property information, and more searchable by company name. Nexis Uni also has a legal focus and the ability to look up court cases which may be helpful if you are in a product landscape known for legal issues as a barrier.
Business Insights: Essentials
Provides access to global business information, including company profiles, brand information, investment reports, rankings, SWOTs, professional associations, and industry reports. Much company information can be directly accessed by searching the sections available in the companies dropdown above the search bar. The main search bar also defaults to searching company profiles by company name.
Hoover's Company Records (ProQuest)
Provides directory information on public and private companies including location, competitors, summary financials, top officers and company history for public companies.
Business Source Complete
Provides access to SWOT reports which may be found by selecting SWOT analysis under the publication type filter on the initial main search page, then searching the name of a company once the filter is selected.

ESTEEM

The Thomas Mahaffey, Jr. Business Librarians

Librarians

Company Information

Recommended Resources