Skip to main content

America's Wars, Causes of

A guide to resources for the study of causes or origins of America's major armed conflicts.

Terminology

  • Korean War
  • Police Action

Search Suggestions

Books, Videos, etc.
For books, etc. held by Notre Dame analyzing the causes of World War II use:
  • ND Catalog
  • Advanced Search
  • Subject
  • Is (exact)
  • and enter: 
    • Korean War, 1950-1953 Causes
Articles

For scholarly articles:

  • In one or more of the recommended article databases
  • Do a "keyword" search for:
    • "korean war" and (cause* or origin or origins)
  • If retrieval is too great or too small,
    • limit search terms to title, subject or abstract,
    • adjust search by adding or removing or modifying search terms, and/or
    • limiting search results to "peer reviewed" or "refereed" articles.

For contemporary ( 1945 - 1955 ) opinion & analysis:

In one or more of the recommended article databases

  • Do a "keyword" search for:
    • Korea*
  • Limit results to:     
    • 1945 to 1955
  • If retrieval is too great or too small,
    • limit search terms to title, subject or abstract,
    • adjust search by adding or removing or modifying search terms

 For post war opinion & analysis: 

In one or more of the recommended article databases

  • Do a "keyword" search for:
    • Korea*
  • Limit results to:
    • 1945-2018
  • If retrieval is too great or too small,
    • limit search terms to title, subject or abstract,
    • adjust search by adding or removing or modifying search terms

Reference Sources

Primary Sources

Published Document Collections

See the "American Memory" project at Library of Congress Collections

 

For other collections of primary source held by Notre Dame:

Search:

  • ND Catalog
  • Advanced Search
  • Subject
  • contains
  • and enter:
    •   "korean war" and causes and (sources OR documents)

Primary Sources: United Nations

  • 1946 to date.
  • Use to identify pre-1968 documents.  Once identified, search the ND Catalog for call number.
  • Provides UN document number for documents in the Hesburgh Library Microtext Collection (Lower Level) and for use with Interlibary Loan.