Skip to main content

America's Wars, Causes of

A guide to resources for the study of causes or origins of America's major armed conflicts.

Terminology

1990-1991

  • Persian Gulf War
  • Gulf War
  • Gulf War I
  • First Gulf War
  • Kuwait War
  • Iraq War (Before Iraq War 2003-2011)
  • First Iraq War
  • Operation Desert Shield (build up)
  • Operation Desert Storm (armed conflict)

2001 and following

  • The War in Afghanistan
  • U.S. War in Afghanistan
  • Operation Enduring Freedom (2001 to 2014)
  • Operation Freedom's Sentinel (2015 to present)

2003 and following

  • Iraq War 2003-2011
  • Iraq Conflict (2003 to present)
  • Iraqi Civil War (2014 to present)

Reference Sources

Search Suggestions

Books, Videos, etc.
For books, etc. held by Notre Dame analyzing the causes of World War II use:
  • ND Catalog
  • Advanced Search
  • Any
  • Contains
  • and enter: 
    • ("gulf war*" OR "iraq* war" OR "Afghan* war" OR "kuwait* war") AND (cause* OR origin OR origins) AND (cause* OR origin OR origins)

 

Articles

For scholarly articles:

  • In one or more of the recommended article databases
  • Do a "keyword" search for:
    • ("gulf war*" OR "iraq* war" OR "Afghan* war" OR "kuwait* war") AND (cause* OR origin OR origins) AND (cause* OR origin OR origins)
  • If retrieval is too great or too small,
    • limit search terms to title, subject or abstract,
    • adjust search by adding or removing or modifying search terms, and/or
    • limiting search results to "peer reviewed" or "refereed" articles.
For pre-war popular opinion & analysis: 
  • In one or more of the recommended article databases
  • Do a "keyword" search for:
  • the names of countries and their foreign policy ("foreign relations") with each other such as:
    • iraq* AND (policy or relations) AND "united states"
    • iraq* AND (policy or relations) AND ("saudi arabIa*" OR iran*)
    • iraq* AND (policy or relations) AND Kuwait*
    • "saudi arabia*" AND (policy or relations) AND "united states"
  • Limit results to:
    • 1980-1900
    • OR
    • 1990-2000
  • If retrieval is too great or too small,
    • limit search terms to title, subject or abstract,
    • adjust search by adding or removing or modifying search terms

Primary Sources

 

Published Document Collections  

See the "American Memory" project at Library of Congress Collections

 

For other collections of primary source held by Notre Dame search:

  • ND Catalog
  • Advanced Search
  • Subject
  • contains
  • and enter:
    • ("gulf war*" OR "iraq* war" OR "Afghan* war" OR "kuwait* war") AND (cause* OR origin OR origins) AND (cause* OR origin OR origins)

Primary Sources: United Nations

  • 1946 to date.
  • Use to identify pre-1968 documents.  Once identified, search the ND Catalog for call number.
  • Provides UN document number for documents in the Hesburgh Library Microtext Collection (Lower Level) and for use with Interlibary Loan.