Skip to Main Content

Government Information


Legislative Branch

The legislative branch is made up of the House and Senate, known collectively as the Congress. Among other powers, the legislative branch makes all laws, declares war, regulates interstate and foreign commerce and controls taxing and spending policies. The following are legislative branch organizations.

Executive Branch

The executive branch consists of the President, his or her advisors and various departments and agencies. This branch is responsible for enforcing the laws of the land. Below, find links to the executive branch organizations and agencies related to the presidency.

President Obama was invited to offer the Commencement Speech at Notre Dame on May 17, 2009. For more information, see the Observer Article in the Notre Dame University Archives, Digital Collections.

The Presidency

The White House

Executive Agencies

Judicial Branch

The judicial branch consists of the U.S. Supreme Court and the Federal Judicial Center. According to the Constitution, "[t]he judicial Power of the United States, shall be vested in one supreme Court, and in such inferior Courts as the Congress may from time to time ordain and establish." The Federal Judicial Center is the education and research agency for the federal courts.