Government Information

The source of much economic data including employment, wages, inflation (Consumer Price Index). More detailed data can be found here.

provides a wealth of demographic information on people, business and geographic information. A Population Finder, Census QuickFacts for each state, as well as an interactive map with mash-ups about populations and economic data can be found on the site.

The Database on Ideology, Money in Politics, and Elections (DIME) is intended as a general resource for the study of campaign finance and ideology in American politics. The database was developed as part of the project on Ideology in the Political Marketplace, which is an on-going effort to perform a comprehensive ideological mapping of political elites, interest groups, and donors using the common-space CFscore scaling methodology (Bonica 2014).

Library guide on Data and Statistical Sources for Reference and Instruction.

The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision making. As an independent statistical agency, BLS serves its diverse user communities by providing products and services that are accurate, objective, relevant, timely, and accessible.

The United States Census Bureau provides data about the nation’s people and economy. Every 10 years, it conducts the Population and Housing Census, in which every resident in the United States is counted. The agency also gathers data through more than 100 other surveys of households and businesses every one to five years. You can explore the results of the surveys or find popular quick facts.Find data about the U.S., such as maps and population, demographic, and economic data.

The Government Finance Statistics (GFS) contains data for all reporting countries in the framework of the Government Finance Statistics Manual, 2014 (GFSM 2014). The GFSM 2014 classifications remain largely the same as in the GFSM 2001 presentations.

A robust, searchable data inventory of nearly 10,000 datasets and research documents from across all 50 states, the District of Columbia and the federal government.A first-of-its-kind, publicly available resource for various types of criminal justice data and research. From Sunlight Foundation.

Provides statistics on number and characteristics of persons who became legal permanent residents during fiscal year 2012, foreign nationals who became legal residents, the Yearbook of Immigration Statistics back to 2003, and much more.

Provides a wealth of data on the justice system, prisons cases, etc.

SUSB is an annual series that provides national and subnational data on the distribution of economic data by enterprise size and industry.

Provides comprehensive data on all aspects of energy use and production in the United States.

provides internationally comparable and reliable data that reflect a selection of major cultural industries and practices. From site The FBI’s UCR Program is a nationwide, cooperative statistical effort of more than 18,000 city, university and college, county, state, tribal, and federal law enforcement agencies voluntarily reporting data on crimes brought to their attention.