Library Guides: Ireland on Film: Home

Ireland on Film: Introduction

The Hesburgh Library Film Collection includes popular films, educational films, an documentaries. Most are on DVD, but an increasing number of films are available online.This guide lists the DVDs made in Ireland, set in Ireland or with a significant connection to Ireland.

The Hesburgh Library has two large collections of Irish film documentary, the Radharc Collection and the Peter Heathwood Collection on Northern Ireland. These are described in separate sections.

Please consult the Irish Studies Librarian for information on the films.

Note: Instructors may place DVDs or videos on reserve or have them streamed online for classes. Information and contact details are available in the Front Line Services Reserves FAQ.

Film Sources Online

IFI Player
Films from the IFI Archive, the Archive of the Irish Film Institute.

Silent film online This link opens in a new window
This includes a number of silent films about Ireland.

RTÉ Archives
Programs from the archives of Ireland's national broadcaster, RTÉ.
Seinnteoir TG4
Watch up-to-date Irish-language TV programs on the TG4 player.
RTÉ Player
Watch up-to-date Irish TV including news programs.

Locating Media in Hesburgh Library

DVDs and other video formats are kept in Hesburgh Library's Lower Level. Media items are shelved in a closed area and are not available for physical browsing. Use the ND Catalog to find an item's call number (for example, D 07040 or V 03320), then ask for that item at the Lower Level Service Desk. Most materials can be checked out for several days.