Library Guides: Peace Studies: News and Popular Press

News Sources

Popular press resources such as newspapers and magazines are expert but non-scholarly sources that report basic facts and offer opinions. One benefit of these sources is that they are printed shortly after an event, but they do not reach the level of analysis necessary for scholarly work. These resources will provide background information or context. They will also assist in identifying key themes, participants, and events.

Contemporary News Sources

Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text information and perspectives from thousands of U.S. and international news sources, each with its own distinctive focus, offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and global issues. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Newspaper articles from major international newspapers, including the New York Times, Chicago Tribune, and Wall Street Journal.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Find international and national news coverage, including the ability to limit by particular countries of publication.
Newspaper source plus This link opens in a new window
Especially useful for finding regional coverage; for example, includes the South Bend Tribune.

-- Other Collections / Aggregators

McClatchy-Tribune collection This link opens in a new window
Includes a 90-day archive of newspapers from the McClatchy-Tribune wire service. The data is updated daily.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S.
Television news archive, Vanderbilt University This link opens in a new window
Searchable archive of abstracts of news broadcasts from 1968 to present (ABC, CBS, NBC), 1995 to present (CNN), selected content from PBS and FOX News. Selected online video content from CNN and NBC viewable with RealPlayer. Descriptive summaries of the Vanderbilt University collection of network television news programs and other news-related programming collected in its archive since August 5, 1968. Loan copies of videotapes in 3/4 inch U-matic & 1/2 inch VHS. format are available for a fee from the Archive.

AllAfrica
AllAfrica aggregates, produces and distributes 800 news and information items daily from over 150 African news organizations and its own reporters to an African and global public.

World news connection This link opens in a new window
Provides English translations of news sources prepared by the U.S. government from around the world. Successor to the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS).

Recent Historical News Sources

Keesing's world news archive This link opens in a new window
Provides access to archive of original, accurate and objective news articles providing digestible but detailed summaries of world events, drawn from a wide range of press and other sources in a variety of languages. Digitized version of Keesing's contemporary archives, 1931-1986, and Keesing's record of world events, 1987-
Proquest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
America's historical newspapers This link opens in a new window
A growing collection allows users to search more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1998 [and beyond], including titles from all 50 states. Created by Readex through partnerships with the American Antiquarian Society, Library of Congress, Wisconsin Historical Society and others.
Paper of record This link opens in a new window
Searchable historical archive from PaperofRecord.com of full-page newspaper images created from newspaper collections on microfilm, preserving the original format of the paper. Many titles from Canada and Mexico. Usage info: 3-5 seats
Irish newspaper archive This link opens in a new window
Searchable and browseable database of Irish newspapers, with both historical and current content.
Times digital archive, 1785-1985 (London) This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of full-text and full-image articles from the Times of London for the years 1785-1985. Digital reproduction, cover to cover, of the paper in PDF files. Includes advertisements, illustrations, and photos.

Popular Magazines

Gale Academic OneFile Select This link opens in a new window
Limit results to "Magazines" for popular and non-scholarly publications, including policy magazines. Some titles related to peace include Arms Control Today, Peace and Freedom, The Economist, The New Statesman, and UN Chronicle.
Periodicals contents index PCI / This link opens in a new window
Looking for historical coverage? This database provides magazine coverage from 1815 - 2005, including coverage of major events relevant to global affairs and the study of peace and war.
Catholic Periodical and Literature Index (see: ATLA religion database with ATLASerials PLUS) This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from non-scholarly Christian (and mostly but not exclusively Catholic) magazines. Some titles related to peace include Origins (from the Catholic News Service), National Catholic Reporter, The Christian Century, Sojourners Magazine, and the Catholic Worker.
Index to Jewish periodicals This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from non-scholarly Jewish magazines. Some titles related to peace include The Jerusalem Report, Commentary, Palestine-Israel Journal, and Near East Report.
Index Islamicus online This link opens in a new window
Search scholarly journals and non-scholarly magazines related to Islam, the Middle East, Muslim-majority countries, and Muslim minority communities.