Library Guides: Peace Studies: Data and Statistics

Crunching Your Data

Once you have your data, you'll probably want to perform different statistical tests on that data. You might use programs like SPSS or Stata to run tests like Chi Square, t-tests, or regression analysis. Interpreting these results can be confusing, to say the least. The link below can help guide you through the basics of those tests and interpreting their outputs.

Interpreting SPSS Outputs
From ICPSR, one of the largest social science data repositories, this guide makes interpreting SPSS tests really easy.

Data and Statistics

Peace, Conflict, and Nonviolence

Correlates of War Project (COW)
Comparative data on militarized interstate disputes, non-state wars, intra-state wars, alliances, territorial changes, and more.

Cross National Time Series Data Archive
A historical, comparative data set, tracking almost 200 variables for over 200 country units. Access provided by the Libraries and limited to current ND students, faculty and staff.

Global Nonviolent Action Database
Swathmore College - A global database of documented cases of nonviolent action.
Peace Accords Matrix (PAM)
University of Notre Dame - implementation data on intrastate peace agreements. The PAM project is home to the largest existing collection of implementation data on intrastate peace agreements.
SIPRI Yearbook World Armaments and Disarmament (2023)
An essential and independent source for issues on armaments and arms control, conflicts and resolutions, security arrangements and disarmament, as well as longer-term trends in international security.
Unarmed Civilian Peacekeeping Database
Produced by the Mir Centre for Peace Selkirk College, British Columbia, Canada, it highlights where UCP activities have occurred since 1990.
UCDP Conflict Encyclopedia (UCDP database)
Uppsala Conflict Data Program

General, U.S.

Annuarium statisticum ecclesiae by Catholic Church
Call Number: BX 845 .C3
Publication Date: 1970

Census Data This link opens in a new window
Data from the decennial Census and the American Community Survey about U.S. population, business, housing, economics, and more.

American National Election Studies (ANES)
Data on voting, public opinion, and political participation.
Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS)
U.S. data on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.

Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of public domain datasets and proprietary datafiles.

General Social Survey (GSS)
Individual-level repeated cross section and panel data on demographic, behavioral and attitudinal indicators.

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window
The world's largest archive of datasets in the social and behavioral sciences. Access info: To download data, users must create a personal account using their Notre Dame email address.
Polling the Nations This link opens in a new window
Find public opinion polls conducted by ABC News, the AP, Gallup, Pew, NBC News, Eurobarometer, Afrobarometer, and more.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Access to demographic information about the United States, from 1940 to 2000 through interactive demographic maps and reports.

USA.gov - Data and Statistics
This page helpfully collects links to all the major US federal government agencies that provide statistics, all in one place.
SimplyAnalytics
Includes demographic and spending data from the US, as well as a treasure trove of consumer behavior and market research data from Simmons.

General, International

Economist Intelligence Unit This link opens in a new window
Forecasts about economic conditions in various countries. Forecasts consider various factors, including political influences, regulatory environment, financial services, credit, energy, and more.

Human Development Reports
From the UN Development Programme. Annual data on development, by country, including measures of equality, education, health, environmental sustainability, and more.

IMF Data (International Monetary Fund) This link opens in a new window
The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 189 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world.
International Historical Statistics (ebook) This link opens in a new window
Collection of statistical data from around the world, covering a wide range of socioeconomic topics. Provides key economic and social indicators for 1750-2010.
LAPOP, Latin American Public Opinion Project This link opens in a new window
Survey data covering Latin American citizen views on political tolerance, citizen participation, local government, corruption, and views on authoritarianism. Includes AmericasBarometer surveys.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Online library for books, papers, and reports published by OECD and the gateway to OCED's analysis and data. Formerly known as SourceOECD.

United Nations Data
The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) launched a new internet based data service for the global user community. It brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point (http://data.un.org/). Users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system.
World Bank Data
Global development data, including the World Development Indicators.
World Christian Database
The World Christian Database provides comprehensive statistical information on world religions, Christian denominations, and people groups.
CIA - World Fact Book
Maps of the major world regions and other information.
World Religion Database
The World Religion Database (WRD) contains detailed statistics on religious affiliation for every country of the world. It provides source material, including censuses and surveys, as well as best estimates for every religion to offer a definitive picture of international religious demography. It offers best estimates at multiple dates for each of the world’s religions for the period 1900 to 2050.
World Values Survey
The World Values Survey (www.worldvaluessurvey.org) is a global network of social scientists studying changing values and their impact on social and political life. ... The WVS seeks to help scientists and policy makers understand changes in the beliefs, values and motivations of people throughout the world.