Skip to main content

Business, General

Resources, A–Z

COVID-19 UPDATE

The Business Library is now providing remote access to Bloomberg and Capital IQ.
Please contact us at Ask A Business Librarian to request access to these resources!
 

A–D
 

ABI/INFORM Global
Articles from over 1,000 academic business journals.
Provides full-text access to The Wall Street Journal.
________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students
ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry 
Articles from over 1,400 business trade journals.

________________________________________________________________________________________
ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

 

Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 8,500 journals, including full text for more than 4,600 peer-reviewed titles.
________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

Accounting Standards Codification
(see also FASB Academic Access - Students)

If the direct link above doesn't load FASB, use this method: Click on link. Click on LOG IN at the top right of the web page that opens up. Click on the browser “back” button. The page should appear as normal, with a direct link to FASB.
________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students
Ad$pender
Ad$pender monitors advertising expenditures and occurrence information for millions of brands across 18 media. View expenditure information by category, parent company, subsidiary and brand.
________________________________________________________________________________________
 


ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and
students

AdForum
Searchable database of information on the advertising industry, its creative work (AdFolio), and agencies and marketing communications companies worldwide (Agency Preview). Showcases award winners, ads aired on TV during special events in browsable lists, and more.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

AICPA Professional Library on Checkpoint
With Checkpoint’s AICPA Add-on Package, you can go one step beyond WG&L’s renowned accounting and financial reporting analysis, going directly into the AICPA’s complete library of Statements of Position, Auditing Standards, Audit and Accounting Guides, and other primary source material.
________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

Audit Analytics (via WRDS)
Please contact us at Ask a Business Librarian to request access to WRDS
Provides detailed audit information on over 1,200 accounting firms and 15,000 publicly registered companies. Know who is auditing whom and how much they are paying for what services. Create reports by auditor, fees, location, industry and much more.
________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and
students

 

Balance of Payments and International Investment Position Statistics (BOP/IIP)
Database providing information on the balance of payments among countries and geographical areas of the world. Contains approximately 100,000 time series covering more than 170 countries and areas and includes all series appearing on the BOP Country Pages. Part of IMF eLibrary - Data.
________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

Bank Regulatory (via WRDS)
Please contact us at Ask a Business Librarian to request access to WRDS
Bank Regulatory contains five databases for regulated depository financial institutions. These databases provide accounting data for bank holding companies, commercial banks, savings banks, and savings and loans institutions. The source of the data comes from the required regulatory forms filed for supervising purposes.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

BCC Research
In-depth market research reports on trends, latest applications, and key players within markets such as advanced materials, biotechnology, chemicals, energy, healthcare, sensors, plastics, nanotechnology, and other emerging technologies.
________________________________________________________________________________________


ACCESS:

ND faculty, staff, and
students

 

Big Interview
Big Interview gives you both “FAST TRACK” and “MASTERY TRACK” systems of lessons and virtual interview practice to quickly prepare you for your interview. A powerful combination of video tutorials and virtual interview practice software. Access info: Account registration is required. Follow instructions given at the site.
________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

Bloomberg
Remote access now available!
As one of the leading sites for breaking financial news, investor tools and data, Bloomberg is the global standard for business information. 
________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and
students

 

BoardEx (via WRDS)
Please contact us at Ask a Business Librarian to request access to WRDS

Access extensive data about the boards of publicly listed and notable private companies in all regions of the world.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

Business Insights: Essentials
Global business information, including company profiles, brand information, investment reports, company histories, and rankings. Especially useful for SWOTs, Plunkett Analytics industry reports, company histories, and industry essays.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

Business Source Complete
Articles from academic journals, magazines, and trade publications, as well as current company, industry and region reports. Notable for providing full text access to the Harvard Business Review.
________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

Capital IQ
Remote access now available!
Please contact us at 
Ask a Business Librarian for more information.
Data on public and private companies, investment firms, capital transactions, and executives. Great for complex financial statement analysis, comparables analysis, sector analysis, and charting.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and
students

 

CareerShift

Provides integrated job hunting tools accessible from any web browser. Search and store job listings and contact information. A depository for organizing and managing job searches.
________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

Catalyst (via Checkpoint)
Authored by tax experts, Checkpoint Catalyst provides tax research tools and practical guidance for resolving tax questions that arise with business-related transactions. 
________________________________________________________________________________________


ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and
students

CBOE Indexes (via WRDS)
Please contact us at Ask a Business Librarian to request access to WRDS
The CBOE (Chicago Board Options Exchange) Volatility Index (VIX) is a key measure of market expectations of near-term volatility conveyed by S&P 500 stock index option prices. The VIX measures the market's expectation of 30-day volatility.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students
CCH Accounting Research Manager
Contains expert-written data on analytical accounting, auditing, governmental and SEC information as well as primary source data.
________________________________________________________________________________________
 
ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

CCH Internet Tax Research Network
Provides comprehensive U.S. federal and state tax information, including tax codes, regulations, court cases, IRS publications, editorial commentary and explanation.
________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

Charity Navigator
Provides evaluations relating to the finances of thousands of the largest charities in the United States.


________________________________________________________________________________________


ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and
students

Checkpoint
Database for tax and accounting research. Includes United States Tax Reporter library, Federal Tax Coordinator library, Public domain library, RIA citator 2nd, RIA tax alerts, WG&L journals, and state and local tax materials.
________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

China Data Online = Zhongguo shu ju zai xian
Data from the National Bureau of Statistics of the People's Republic of China.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

Compact D/SEC
Provides business and financial information on public companies in the U.S.—domestic and foreign companies listed on national, regional and over-the-counter U.S. stock exchanges. Up to 15 years of annual and quarterly financial statement data from SEC filings as well as company-supplied Annual Reports to Shareholders and other publicly available reports.
________________________________________________________________________________________


ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and
students

COMPUSTAT (via WRDS)
Please contact us at Ask a Business Librarian to request access to WRDS
​COMPUSTAT (from Standard & Poor's) provides more than 300 annual and 100 quarterly Income Statement, Balance Sheet, Statement of Cash Flows, and supplemental data items on more than 24,000 publicly held companies.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and
students

The Conference Board
Reports on key issues in business management and economics, news and analysis of economic topics, and annual surveys for executive compensation and corporate contributions.
________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
Freely Available

CQ Researcher
Award-winning, in-depth reports about the most current and controversial issues of the day. Each article includes an overview, historical background, chronology, pros and cons, and more.
________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

Cross-National Time-Series Data Archive
Contains important social and economic indicators. Access to database of over 250 countries, over 200 series and data beginning in the year 1815 and continuing to the present.
________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

CRSP (via WRDS) 
Please contact us at Ask a Business Librarian to request access to WRDS
The Center for Research in Security Prices maintains the most comprehensive collection of security price, return, and volume data for the NYSE, AMEX and Nasdaq stock markets. Additional CRSP files provide stock indices, beta- and cap-based portfolio, treasury bond and risk-free rates, and mutual fund databases.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

Current Index to Statistics
Searchable bibliographic citations to publications in statistics, probability, and related fields from more than 1,000 journals and thousands of books published since 1975.
________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

Data Planet Statistical Datasets
Provides access to statistical data produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. There are up to 2 billion charts, maps, views, rankings, time series and tables available for use in the Data-Planet repository. Data-Planet Statistical Datasets offers powerful capabilities to compare & contrast multiple data series, perform statistical calculations on the data, and customize output views.
________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

Datastream
Available on machines in the Mahaffey Business Library.
Look in the Business and Economics folder on the desktop.

Historical, global coverage of equities, stock markets, commodities, futures, currencies, options, bond markets, company financials, and economic data.
________________________________________________________________________________________


ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and
students

In Library Only

 

DealScan (via WRDS)
Please contact us at Ask a Business Librarian to request access to WRDS
Comprehensive loan market deals terms and conditions from Thomson Reuters LPC (Loan Pricing Corporation)

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

Devex
A media platform for the global development community. Devex connects and informs 800,000+ development, health, humanitarian, and sustainability professionals through news, business intelligence, and funding & career opportunities.
________________________________________________________________________________________


ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and
students

Direction of Trade Statistics

The Direction of trade statistics (DOTS) database provides figures on the value of merchandise exports and imports by trade partners, as well as area and world aggregates showing trade flows between major areas of the world. Access to monthly, quarterly and annual trade data from 1980 for about 180 countries and geographic areas. Part of the IMF eLibrary.

 

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

E–H

Easy Analytic Software Inc. (EASI)

​EASI data (Easy Analytic Software Inc.) provides detailed consumer, sales, and industry data as well as data from Mediamark's annual "Survey of the American Consumer." Data is available for various geographic areas such as states, counties, census tracts, block groups and zip code.
________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

Ebook Central
A cross-searchable multidisciplinary database of electronic books featuring publications from major academic publishers. New titles are being added regularly. 

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

EBSCO eBook Collection
Provides full text for thousands of recently published books from selected academic and commercial publishers, as well as older works in the public domain.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

EBSCO Management Collection
Provides access to the full text of nearly 1,200 journals and magazines, some of which are peer-reviewed. It also includes company profiles and trade publications.
________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

 

EBSCO Online Citations
A database of publisher-provided citations and table of contents information. Provides access to electronic journals and full text of articles for those journals managed through EBSCO Online.
________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students


EconLit
Comprehensive bibliography of economics literature. 

________________________________________________________________________________________


ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and
students


Economist Intelligence Unit

In-depth country and selected industry analysis and data.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students
ACCESS:
Freely Available

Entrepreneurial Studies Source
Provides the latest insight on topics relevant to entrepreneurship and small businesses. Offers full text for business journals, magazines, reference books, case studies, and company profiles.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

Execucomp (via WRDS)
Please contact us at Ask a Business Librarian to request access to WRDS
Compustat Execucomp provides executive compensation data collected directly from each company's annual proxy. Data is available since 1992.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

Factiva
Provides full-text access to thousands of national and local newspapers, magazines, and trade publications. Notable for access to the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, Washington Post, Forbes, and many more news and financial publications. Also notable for its company snapshots.
________________________________________________________________________________________


ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and
students

FactSet Mergers
Designed to meet your complex M&A research needs, FactSet Mergers lets you analyze highly negotiated key aspects of both public and private acquisition agreements, including merger agreements, stock purchase agreements, and asset purchase agreements. Quickly search and identify precedent transactions and immediately access important language within acquisition agreements, tender offer documents, proxy filings, call transcripts, related SEC filings, and more. Click on "Login" to access resource.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

FactSet SharkRepellent
Provides takeover defense and corporate governance data. Assesses defensive characteristics of specific companies. Profiles more than 5,300 U.S. incorporated public companies from 1999 to the present. 

________________________________________________________________________________________


ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and
students

FASB Academic Access—Faculty

If direct link above doesn't work, use this method—
ACCESS: Click on FASB link above. Click on LOG IN (top right of web page that opens up). Click on browser "back" button. The page should appear as normal, with the direct link and the login information.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

FASB Academic Access—Students
If direct link above doesn't work, use this method—
ACCESS: Click on FASB link above. Click on LOG IN (top right of web page that opens up). Click on browser "back" button. The page should appear as normal, with the direct link and the login information.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

FASB on Checkpoint
FASB on Checkpoint is available as an add-on with a subscription to any RIA/WG&L product on Checkpoint. By subscribing to FASB on Checkpoint, you get an unbeatable combination that keeps you fully informed, no matter what the reporting situation.

________________________________________________________________________________________


ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and
students

Faulkner’s Advisory for IT Studies (FAITS)
Collection of searchable technology reports for the academic environment, FAITS covers information technology infrastructure, telecom, data networking, wireless communications, security, enterprise systems, the Internet and World Wide Web, and technology vendors.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

Forrester
Forrester's research publications analyze a broad range of technology areas such as new media, computing, software, networking, telecommunications and the Internet, and project how technology trends will affect businesses, consumers, and society. Forrester reports include up-to-date industry statistics, as well as illustrative graphs and charts.

________________________________________________________________________________________


ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and
students

 

Frost & Sullivan
Reports and market trends encompassing various technology, energy, and manufacturing-related fields. For full PDF report access, send an email to Ask A Business Librarian with the report title.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and
students

 

Foundation Directory Online
Foundation Directory Online provides information about 100,000+ foundations, corporate giving programs, and grant making public charities in the US. FDO has recently added information about government grants. Access to FDO is provided by ND's Office of Foundation Relations.

_______________________________________________________________________________________

Gale Business: Entrepreneurship
Covers all major areas of starting and operating a business including financing, management, marketing, human resources, franchising, accounting,and taxes. Resources include sample business plans from the Business Plans Handbook series, how to guides, articles, business journals, and websites.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

Gale In Context: Environmental Studies
Searchable database of content on emerging green technologies, sustainability, climate change, and other environmental issues.
________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

Global Economic Monitor
Daily updates of global economic developments, with coverage of high income as well as developing countries. Data is provided for exchange rates, equity markets, interest rates, stripped bond spreads, commodity prices and emerging market bond indices.
________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

Global Financial Data
Global Financial Data is a collection of current and historical financial and economic data provided in ASCII or Excel format. Data includes: long-term indices on stock markets; Total Return data on stocks, bonds, and bills; interest rates; exchange rates; inflation rates; bond indices; commodity indices and prices; consumer price indices; gross domestic product; individual stocks; sector indices; treasury bill yields; wholesale price indices; unemployment rates; and real estate data covering over 200 countries.

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

______________________________________________________________________________________

Global Futures Intelligence System
​GFIS is The Millennium Project’s new way to participate with and have access to all its resources in one place. The resource features over 10,000 pages of futures research and 1,300 pages of methods. The text has built-in Google translation with 52 languages.
________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

GoinGlobal
Provides country-specific career and employment information including world-wide internship and job postings, information on companies that have applied for H1B visas, and information on major U.S. cities. Updated daily.
________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

Google Scholar
Searches across a wide range of scholarly literature including articles, books, conference papers, technical reports, theses, etc., from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. This special version of Google's index connects to full-text resources that are available to ND users via the Libraries' subscriptions.
________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

Government Finance Statistics
Provides detailed annual statistical data on revenue, expense, transactions in assets and liabilities, and stocks of assets and liabilities of general government and its subsectors as reported by member countries. Part of the IMF eLibrary.
________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

Governmental Accounting Research System Online (GARS)
(see FASB Academic Access—Students)

GARS Online provides efficient, effective, and easy access to all U.S. Generally Accepted Accounting Principles (GAAP) and related literature for state and local governments.
________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

GuideStar Nonprofit Compensation Report
Reviews key employee compensation practices at charitable nonprofit organizations. Covers positions in thousands of tax-exempt organizations that file Form 990 with the IRS.
_________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

GuideStar
Information about the missions, programs, and finances of IRS-recognized organizations.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

H1 Base
Access to information on H1-B job hiring and recruitment. Notre Dame's MCOB Career Development office has already paid for your ability to obtain online access of every company that hires for H1-B jobs. The database includes contact names, phone numbers, and email addresses for appropriate contacts at each company.
________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

HathiTrust Digital Library
A digital repository for the nation's great research libraries that brings together the immense collections of its partner institutions.
________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

Hoover’s Company Records
Company information public and private companies including location, competitors, summary financials, top officers and company history for public companies.

 

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

I–L
 

IBES (via WRDS)
Please contact us at Ask a Business Librarian to request access to WRDS
The Institutional Brokers Estimates System provides consensus and detail forecasts from security analysts, including earnings per share, revenue, cash flow, long-term growth projections, and stock recommendations.

_______________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

IBISWorld
Industry reports in five categories: market research, risk ratings, company research, global industry research, and economic and demographic data. Standardized market research report components include overviews, industry performance and outlook, competitive landscape (including market share concentration), regulatory environment, major companies, operational conditions, and key statistics. Downloadable report elements include SWOT analyses, statistical tables, and graphs.
________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

Insiders Data (via WRDS—Thomson Reuters)
Please contact us at Ask a Business Librarian to request access to WRDS
Captures all insider activity as reported on SEC forms 3, 4, 5, and 144. Corporate insiders are defined broadly to include those that have "access to non-public, material, insider information" and these insiders are required to file SEC form 3, 4, and 5 when they trade in their companies stock. 
________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and
students

 

Institutional (13f) Holdings - s34 (via WRDS—Thomson Reuters)
Please contact us at Ask a Business Librarian to request access to WRDS
Common stock holdings and transactions of institutional money managers where holdings of the managing company/filer’s level are as per the 13F filing itself.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and
students

 

International Debt Statistics
International Debt Statistics (IDS)—formerly known as Global Development Finance (GDF)—provides external debt and financial flows statistics for countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt under the World Bank's Debtor Reporting System (DRS).
________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

International Financial Statistics
The IFS searchable database contains approximately 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries starting in 1948. Includes data on exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts. Information is presented in country tables and in tables of area and world aggregates. Part of the IMF eLibrary.
________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

International Historical Statistics (ebook)
Collection of statistical data from around the world, covering a wide range of socio-economic topics.
________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

Institutional Shareholder Services (ISS) (via WRDS)
Please contact us at Ask a Business Librarian to request access to WRDS
Access Historical Governance, Historical Directors data, Voting Results data, Voting Analytics with N-PX data, Incentive Lab data and Shareholder Proposal data.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and
students

 

JSTOR
Scanned images of journal back issues, including over 200 business titles and over 180 economics titles. Content often dates back to the original issue. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts.

 

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

M–P
 

MarketResearch.com Academic
Thousands of full-text reports from market research firms covering health care, consumer goods, publishing, manufacturing, and other markets and industries.
________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

Mergent Archives
Provides access to a vast archive of corporate and industry related documents. Contains Mergent/Moody's Manuals, Annual reports, Industry reports and Equity reports, Depending on collection being accessed, content may be searched by company, SEC document names, country, state, city, industry, world region, and CUSIP.
________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

Mergent Bond Viewer
Provides access to evaluative data on U.S. taxable and municipal fixed-income bond markets.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

Mergent Fixed Income Securities Database (FISD) (via WRDS)
Please contact us at Ask a Business Librarian to request access to WRDS
​Mergent Fixed Income Securities Database (FISD) (via WRDS) is a comprehensive database of publicly offered U.S. bonds. FISD contains issue details on over 140,000 corporate, corporate MTN (medium term note), supranational, U.S. Agency, and U.S. Treasury debt securities and includes more than 550 data items. 

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and
students

 

Mergent Intellect
Provides access to private and public U.S and international business and company data, industry profiles and news, facts and figures, ratios, and executive contact information.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

Mergent Online
A great source for U.S. company financials. Coverage of 10,000 public companies and their SEC filings. Current and historical U.S. annual reports in multiple download formats. Also very useful for international company data and reports. Our subscription includes access to Investext, which provides company and industry analyst reports from investment banks, consulting firms, and brokerage houses.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

MFLINKS (via WRDS)
Please contact us at Ask a Business Librarian to request access to WRDS
Using MFLINKS allows a researcher to gather detail on holdings either for particular funds or fund families and groups of funds at specific points in time. Links CRSP mutual fund performance and Thomson s12 mutual fund holdings.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

Mintel Academic
Perfect for reports about popular consumer trends, with daily updates on the latest issues affecting key consumer markets and the economy. Market data includes size, segmentation and forecasts. Multiple download formats.

________________________________________________________________________________________


ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and
students

Morningstar Direct
Available on select machines in the Mahaffey Business Library.
Ask staff for assistance.

A multi-currency investment research tool. Evaluate and select investments, create and monitor portfolios and lineups, and conduct competitive analysis. Includes data on stocks, equity ownership, market indexes, funds (closed-end, exchange traded, hedge, money market, offshore, and open-end mutual), pension/life insurance, and 529 plans. Data from SBBI Yearbook available from this database. 

________________________________________________________________________________________


ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and
students
In Library Only

Morningstar Investment Research Center
A comprehensive stock database that includes financial data on companies traded on the New York Stock Exchange, NASDAQ®, and the American Stock Exchange; in-depth research reports on companies; data on mutual, closed-end, and exchange-traded funds; analysts' reports on funds; exclusive investment tools and engaging educational features, including interactive training on basic and advanced stock, fund, and portfolio techniques.

________________________________________________________________________________________


ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and
students

Morningstar Principia Mutual Funds Advanced
Available on select machines in the Mahaffey Business Library.
Ask staff for assistance.

Provides data on 10,000+ mutual funds, including historical data, an archive of analyst reviews and commentaries, and fund manager profiles.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students
In Library Only

MRI+ (see University Reporter (GfK MRI))
  
________________________________________________________________________________________

MSCI (formerly KLD and GMI) (via WRDS)
Please contact us at Ask a Business Librarian to request access to WRDS
Annual data set of positive and negative environmental, social, and governance (ESG) performance indicators applied to a universe of publicly traded companies. Data set was initiated in 1991. MSCI GMI Ratings is not part of our subscription. 

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and
students

 

Mutual Fund Holdings (s12) (via WRDSThomson Reuters)
Please contact us at Ask a Business Librarian to request access to WRDS

Covers almost all historical domestic mutual funds plus about 3,000 global funds that hold a fraction of assets in stocks traded in U.S. exchanges as well Canadian stock markets. Contains virtually all U.S.-based mutual funds in existence since 1980. Primary source for the mutual fund holdings data is SEC N-30D filings.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and
students

 

National Bureau of Economic Research—Technical Working Papers
Documents from the National Bureau of Economic Research covering technical aspects of economic behavior and related public policy.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

National Bureau of Economic Research—Working Papers
Access to preliminary full text research prior to revision before final publication. Covers four types of empirical research: developing new statistical measurements, estimating quantitative models of economic behavior, assessing the effects of public policies on the U.S. economy, and projecting the effects of alternative policy proposals.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

NetAdvantage
Features Standard & Poor's market investment news, including market snapshot, company quote, equity indexes page, the Outlook's market insight, S & P stock picks and pans, economic calendar, economic insight, industry in focus, and Stovall's sector watch.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

Nexis Uni
Includes journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives; and business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

OECD iLibrary
Online library for books, papers and reports published by OECD and the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

 

OptionMetrics (Ivy DB US) (via WRDS)
Please contact us at Ask a Business Librarian to request access to WRDS
Source of historical price and implied volatility data for the US equity and index options markets. Contains historical prices of options and their associated underlying instruments, correctly calculated implied volatilities, and option sensitivities.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and
students

 

Oxford Business Dictionaries
These dictionaries provide essential business vocabulary and clear translations, along with usage examples and grammar rules. They are part of the Oxford Reference collection.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

Oxford Scholarship Online: Business and Management
Contains the full text and abstracts of classic and newly published books by Oxford University Press. Provides access to hundreds of key business and management titles.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

Passport
Demographic, economic and marketing statistics for 200+ countries worldwide. Contains 6-year historic market size data for more than 330 consumer products in 52 countries, plus 5-year forecasts. 
________________________________________________________________________________________


ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and
students

Political Risk Yearbook 2020
Political Risk Services (PRS) publishes 100 Country Reports that monitor the risks to international business over the next five years.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

Preqin Private Equity Online
Global private equity data that includes information on Institutional Investors, Fund Managers, Buyout Deals and Exits, Service Providers, Funds, Performance, Venture Capital Deals and Exits, and Investment Consultants. ________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
Provides information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses, with subject, title, and author access to almost all American dissertations accepted at an accredited institution since 1861. Offers full text for most dissertations (Notre Dame and other) added since 1997.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

Prosper Foundation InsightCenter
Prosper’s Monthly Consumer Survey, conducted monthly via email tracks consumer shopping behavior for specific retailers, brands, and categories, economic impact, feelings about the employment environment, seasonal and holiday information, and more. Prosper’s Media Behaviors & Influence Study conducted annually via email monitors how consumers use media and are influenced by it, including everything from traditional to new and emerging media.

 

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

Q–T
 

ReferenceUSA
U.S. and Canadian business and residential directory. Search by company name, geographic area, business type, SIC code, yellow page listing, revenue, location, number of employees or any combination of the above. In addition to address and phone number, each entry includes officer names and titles, corporate affiliation, business type and size of yellow page advertising. Toll free and fax numbers are given for some companies.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

Regional Business News
Incorporates more than 70 U.S. and Canadian business publications with coverage back to 1990. Key resources include newspapers, radio and television news transcripts, trade publications, magazines, and newswires.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

SDC Platinum
Provides detailed information on new issues, mergers and acquisitions, syndicated loans, and private equity for the global financial marketplace. User login is BIC.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

SEC Compliance
SEC Compliance on RIA Checkpoint provides a centralized source for everything you need to keep up with SEC requirements. Access info: Click on dropdown box "Search Practice Area"; select "Accting, Audit & Corp Finance". Click on checkbox "SEC Compliance"; enter search term; click "Search" button.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

Simmons National Consumer Study
Brings consumer targets to life with vivid and complete profiles, including lifestyles, attitudes, brand preferences and media use. The high quality, nationally representative study is the result of a comprehensive, continuously fielded survey of approximately 25,000 U.S. adults, including both English and Spanish speakers. The study, released quarterly, simplifies and enhances consumer and media research reporting on over 60,000 data elements.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

SimplyAnalytics
A web-based mapping application. Create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the U.S. 
 

________________________________________________________________________________________


ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and
students

Small Business Reference Center
Offers exclusive full text for many top consumer small business reference books, as well as tools to address many small business topics. It includes business videos, a help and advice section, and details on how to create business plans.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

Social Explorer
Access to demographic information about the United States, from 1940 to 2000 through interactive demographic maps and reports.

________________________________________________________________________________________


ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and
students

 

Social Science Research Network
Specialized research networks in the social sciences, with topics covering accounting, economics, financial economics, legal scholarship, and management (including negotiation and marketing). Consists of abstracts of scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an electronic paper collection of downloadable full-text PDFs.

________________________________________________________________________________________


ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and
students

Sports Market Analytics (SMA)
Provides searchable news and market research from the National Sporting Goods Association and other industry sources on all aspects of sporting goods, sports equipment, participation, broadcasting and marketing.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

Springer eBook Collection: Business and Economics
Links to full text ebooks about business and economics published between 2005–2015.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

Statista
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

STATS Indiana
The statistical data utility for the State of Indiana, developed and maintained since 1985 by the Indiana Business Research Center at Indiana University's Kelley School of Business.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
Freely Available

TAQ (NYSE Trade and Quote) (via WRDS)
Please contact us at Ask a Business Librarian to request access to WRDS
Intraday transactions data (trades and quotes) for all securities listed on the New York Exchange (NYSE) and American Stock Exchange (AMEX), as well as Nasdaq National Market System (NMS) and SmallCap issues. Covers 1993–2014. 

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and
students

 

ThomasNet
Find companies and products manufactured in North America. View thousands of online company catalogs and websites. Search by product or service, company name or brand name, and limit by geographic location.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
Freely Available

TRACE (Trade Recording and Compliance Engine) (via WRDS)
Please contact us at Ask a Business Librarian to request access to WRDS
Transaction data for OTC traded corporate and agency bonds from July 2002 to the present.


________________________________________________________________________________________

 

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and
students

 

U–Z

University Reporter (GfK MRI)
Reports on American consumer media and product usage. Data are from the Survey of the American Consumer and include media choices, demographics, lifestyles and attitudes, and consumption of over 6,500 products and services in about 600 categories. Information is based upon in-person interviews of 25,000 consumers. 

________________________________________________________________________________________


ACCESS:

ND faculty, staff, and
students

Uniworld Online
The authoritative source of information on multinational firms operating around the world. Previously released as two separate directories under the Uniworld label: American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries and Foreign Firms Operating in the United States.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

Value Line Research Center
Includes full subscriptions to: Value Line Investment Survey, Value Line Investment Survey—Small and Mid-Cap Edition, Value Line Mutual Fund Survey, Value Line Daily Options Survey, Value Line Special Situations Service, Value Line Convertibles Survey, Exchange Traded Funds (ETFs). 

________________________________________________________________________________________


ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and
students

Vault Career Insider
Insider reviews about companies—working conditions, the ups and downs, what the local community thinks. Career advice, interviewing tips, sample resumes and cover letters, job searching, blogs, and videos.

________________________________________________________________________________________


ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and
students

Ward’s Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies
Provides basic company and industry information. Includes names, addresses, SIC code, and geographic location for more than 100,000 U.S. companies.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

Web of Science
Accesses multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. The databases are indexed so you can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

World Bank e-Library
Contains full-text cross-searchable books, reports, journals, and working papers on social, economic, and international development from the World Bank.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

World DataBank
DataBank is an analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

World Development Indicators
WDI is the primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and students

WRDS SEC Analytics Suite (via WRDS)
Please contact us at Ask a Business Librarian to request access to WRDS
Allows searching of 3.5+ million text and html files for all 10-K, 10-Q, 8-K, and Proxy filings, 13D/G, 13F UPLOAD and CORRESP and CT ORDER. Includes any entity (95,000+) that reported to the SEC's EDGAR database since 1994. Develop tailored datasets parsing millions of regulatory reports based on custom criteria. Advanced data-mining is supported. Updated daily. 

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and
students

 

WRDS—Wharton Research Data Services
Please contact us at Ask a Business Librarian to request access to WRDS
From the Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania, WRDS is a platform for financial, accounting, banking, economics, management, and marketing databases through a single interface. 

________________________________________________________________________________________

ACCESS:
ND faculty, staff, and
students