Skip to Main Content

LAW 73372 — Federalism Seminar (A.J. Bellia): Cited Secondary Sources

This is the one on which I am working.

Cited Secondary Sources

 

These sources are linked to an authoritative online source (.gov, university archive, academic press or a subscription database) whenever possible in order to promote ease of access.

 

If both Kresge and Hesburgh libraries have a print copy, the catalog record for Hesburgh library is linked (since it includes both libraries copies).

 

Be sure to see the list of Secondary Source Databases at the bottom of this page!

 

Adelman, David E. & Kirsten H. Engel, Adaptive Federalism: The Case Against Reallocating Environmental Regulatory Authority, 92 Minn. L. Rev. 1796 (2008).

 

Ahdieh, Robert B., Dialectical Regulation, 38 Conn. L. Rev. 863 (2006).

 

American Heritage Dictionary (3d. ed. 1992).

 

Ash, J., New and Complete Dictionary of the English Language (1775).

 

Bacon, Matthew, A New Abridgement of the Law (4th ed. 1778).

 

Bailyn, Bernard, The Ideological Origins of the American Revolution (1967)

    original print edition.

    50th anniversary online edition.

 

Bayley on Bills (5th ed. 1830).

 

Bellia, Anthony J., Jr., The Origins of Article III “Arising Under” Jurisdiction, 57 Duke L. J. 263 (2007).

    State Courts and the Making of Federal Common Law, 153 U. Pa. L. Rev. 825 (2005).

    Bellia, Anthony J., Jr. & Bradford R. Clark, The Federal Common Law of Nations, 109 Colum. L. Rev. 1 (2009)

 

Blackstone, William, Commentaries (1765).

 

Calhoun, John C., The South Carolina Exposition (1828).

 

Caminker, E. H., State Sovereignty and Subordinacy: May Congress Commandeer State Officers to Implement Federal Law?, 95 Colum. L. Rev. 1001 (1995).

 

Casto, William R., The Supreme Court in the Early Republic: The Chief Justiceships of John Jay and Oliver Elisworth (1995).

 

Clark, Bradford R., The Eleventh Amendment and the Nature of the Union, 123 Harv. L. Rev. 1817 (2010).

    Federal Common Law: A Structural Reinterpretation, 144 U. Pa. L. Rev. 1245 (1996).

    Separation of Powers as a Safeguard of Federalism, 79 Tex. L. Rev. 1321 (2001).

 

Coke, Edward, Institutes of the Laws of England (London, M. Flesher 1644).

 

Cooley, T., Constitutional Limitations (2d ed. 1871).

 

Currie, David P., The Constitution in Congress: The Federalist Period 1789–1801 (1997).

    The Constitution in the Supreme Court: The First Hundred Years: 1789–1888 (1985).

    The Constitution in the Supreme Court: The Second Century 1888–1986 (1990).

 

Cushman, Barry, Rethinking the New Deal Court (1998).

    Rethinking the New Deal Court, 80 Va. L. Rev. 201 (1994).

 

Dobbs, D., Law of Remedies (1973).

 

Dyche, T. & Pardon, W., A New General English Dictionary (16th ed. 1777).

 

Elkins, Stanley & Eric McKitrick, The Age of Federalism: The Early American Republic, 1788–1800 (1993).

 

Engel, Kirsten, Harnessing the Benefits of Dynamic Federalism in Environmental Law, 56 Emory L.J. 159 (2006).

 

Fairman, Charles, Does the Fourteenth Amendment Incorporate the Bill of Rights? The Original Understanding, 2 Stan. L. Rev. 5 (1949).

 

Fallon, Richard H., Jr. et al., Hart and Wechsler’s The Federal Courts and the Federal System (5th ed. 2003).

    Hart and Wechsler’s The Federal Courts and the Federal System (6th ed. 2009).

 

Farnsworth, E., Contracts (1990).

 

Field, Martha A., Sources of Law: The Scope of Federal Common Law, 99 Harv. L. Rev. 881 (1986).

 

Finkelman, Paul, Teaching Slavery in American Constitutional Law, 34 Akron L. Rev. 261 (2000).

 

Finnis, John, Natural Law and Natural Rights (1980).

    The Priority of Persons, in Oxford Essays in Jurisprudence (Horder ed. 2000).

 

Fletcher, William A., The General Common Law and Section 34 of the Judiciary Act of 1789: The Example of Marine Insurance, 97 Harv. L. Rev. 1513 (1984).

 

Frankfurter, J, Some Reflections on the Reading of Statutes, 47 Colum. L. Rev. 527 (1947).

    The Commerce Clause under Marshall, Taney and Waite (1937).

 

Glickman, Robert L., From Cooperative to Inoperative Federalism, 41 Wake Forest L. Rev. 719 (2006).

 

Harrison, John, Reconstructing the Privileges or Immunities Clause, 101 Yale L.J. 1385 (1992).

 

Hills, Jr., Roderick M., The Political Economy of Cooperative Federalism: Why State Autonomy Makes Sense and “Dual Sovereignty” Doesn’t, 96 Mich. L. Rev. 813 (1998).

 

Jaeger, W., Williston on Contracts (3d ed. 1970).

 

Johnson, Samuel, A Dictionary of the English Language (1755).

    A Dictionary of the English Language (7th ed. 1785).

 

Kramer, Larry D., The Lawmaking Power of the Federal Courts, 12 Pace L. Rev. 263 (1992).

 

Putting the Politics Back into the Political Safeguards of Federalism, 100 Colum. L. Rev. 215 (2000).

 

Lessig, Lawrence, Understanding Changed Readings: Fidelity and Theory, 47 Stan. L. Rev. 395 (1995).

 

Liebman, James S. & William F. Ryan, “Some Effectual Power”: The Quantity and Quality of Decisionmaking Required of Article III Courts, 98 Colum. L. Rev. 696 (1998).

 

McConnell, Michael W., Federalism: Evaluating the Founders’ Design, 54 U. Chi. L. Rev. 1484 (1987).

 

McIlwain, Charles H., Constitutionalism and the Changing World (1939).

 

McLaughlin, Andrew C., The Background of American Federalism, 12 American Political Science Review 215 (1918).

 

Merrill, Thomas W., The Common Law Powers of Federal Courts, 52 U. Chi. L. Rev. 1 (1985).

 

Monaghan, Henry P., The Supreme Court, 1974 Term—Foreword: Constitutional Common Law, 89 Harv. L. Rev. 1 (1975).

 

Nelson, Caleb, Preemption, 86 Va. L. Rev. 225 (2000).

    The Persistence of General Law, 106 Colum. L. Rev. 503 (2006).

 

Peterson, Todd D., Restoring Structural Checks on Judicial Power in the Era of Managerial Judging, 29 U.C. Davis L. Rev. 41 (1995).

 

Prakash, Saikrishna B. & John C. Yoo, Questions for the Critics of Judicial Review, 72 Geo. Wash. L. Rev. 354 (2003).

 

Restatement (Second) of Contracts (1979).

 

Restatement of Restitution (1936).

 

Rowe, Gary D., The Sound of Silence: United States v. Hudson & Goodwin, the Jeffersonian Ascendancy, and the Abolition of Federal Common Law Crimes, 101 Yale L.J. 919 (1992).

 

Rubin, Edward L., & Malcolm Feeley, Federalism: Some Notes on a National Neurosis, 41 UCLA L. Rev. 903 (1994).

 

Rudiments of Law and Government, Deduced from the Law of Nature (1783).

   reprinted in American Political Writing During the Founding Era, 1760–1805 (1983).

 

Ruhl, J.B. & James Salzman: Climate Change, Dead Zones, and Massive Problems in the Administrative State: A Guide for Whittling Away, 98 Cal. L. Rev. 59 (2010).

 

Sarnoff, Joshua D., Cooperative Federalism, the Delegation of Federal Power, and the Constitution, 39 Ariz. L. Rev. 205 (1997).

 

Schapiro, Robert A., Toward a Theory of Interactive Federalism, 91 Iowa L. Rev. 243 (2005).

    What the Anti-Federalists Were For (1981).

 

Story, J., Commentaries on the Constitution of the United States (5th ed. 1891).

 

Sullivan, J., The History of Land Titles in Massachusetts (1801).

 

Swift, Z., A Digest on the Law of Evidence in Civil and Criminal Cases and a Treatise on Bills of Exchange and Promissory Notes (1810).

 

tenBroek, The Antislavery Origins of the Fourteenth Amendment (1951).

 

Tocqueville, Alexis de, Democracy in America (Mayer ed. 1969).

 

Tribe, L., American Constitutional Law (2d ed. 1988).

 

Tucker, St. George, Blackstone’s Commentaries (1803).

 

Warren, Charles, New Light on the History of the Federal Judiciary Act of 1789, 37 Harv. L. Rev. 49 (1923).

    The Supreme Court in United States History (rev. ed. 1926).

 

Webster, N., American Dictionary of the English Language (1828).

 

Webster’s Ninth New Collegiate Dictionary (1991).

 

Webster’s Third New International Dictionary (1966).

 

Webster’s Third New International Dictionary (2002).

 

Wechsler, Herbert, The Political Safeguards of Federalism: The Role of the States in the Composition and Selection of the National Government, 54 Colum. L. Rev. 543 (1954).

 

Weinberg, Louise, Federal Common Law, 83 Nw. U. L. Rev. 805 (1989).

 

Weiser, Philip J., Towards a Constitutional Architecture for Cooperative Federalism, 79 N.C. L. Rev. 663 (2001).

 

Wilson, James, The Works of the Honourable James Wilson, L.L.D. (B. Wilson ed. 1804).

 

Wood, Gordon S., The Creation of the American Republic: 1776–1787 (1969).

    Empire of Liberty: A History of the Early Republic, 1789–1815 (2009).

 

Woodward, Quasi Contract (1913).

 

Worcester, J., Dictionary of the English Language (1860).

 

Young, Ernest A., Constitutional Avoidance, Resistance Norms, and the Preservation of Judicial Review, 78 Texas L. Rev. 1549 (2000).

    Executive Preemption, 102 Nw. U. L. Rev. 868 (2008).

 

Zimmerman, Joseph F., Contemporary American Federalism (1992).

For assistance, please contact the research librarians at the Kresge Law Library by email: AskUs@nd.edu.

Secondary Source Images

Ash, J., New and Complete Dictionary of the English Language (1775).

Bellia, Anthony J., Jr., The Origins of Article III “Arising Under” Jurisdiction, 57 Duke L. J. 263 (2007).

 

Currie, David P., The Constitution in Congress: The Federalist Period 1789–1801 (1997).

 

Cushman, Barry, Rethinking the New Deal Court, 80 Va. L. Rev. 201 (1994).

 

Engel, Kirsten, Harnessing the Benefits of Dynamic Federalism in Environmental Law, 56 Emory L.J. 159 (2006).

 

Finnis, John, Natural Law and Natural Rights (1980).

 

Frankfurter, J, The Commerce Clause under Marshall, Taney and Waite (1937).

 

Rudiments of Law and Government, Deduced from the Law of Nature (1783).

 

Story, J., Commentaries on the Constitution of the United States (5th ed. 1891).

 

Tucker, St. George, Blackstone’s Commentaries (1803).

 

Weinberg, Louise, Federal Common Law, 83 Nw. U. L. Rev. 805 (1989).

 

Wood, Gordon S., Empire of Liberty: A History of the Early Republic, 1789–1815 (2009).

 

Secondary Source Databases

Journals and Law Reviews are full-text searchable on Lexis+ and Westlaw (which both have far more advanced search options than HeinOnline or an individual journal's webpage).

Search for terms like those you have encountered in your course readings (e.g., Article III, federalism, [name of historic figure], secession, state's rights, etc.) or use a citator (Shepard's or KeyCite) to locate articles that a known authority (e.g., helpful scholarly article, case, or other source).   

 

 

 

Your research may benefit from scholarship in other disciplines including history, religion, political science and philosophy (among others). The following databases provide access to a wide variety of sources in these fields.

 

  • Academic Search Complete: A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals. Offers coverage of many areas of academic study including: area studies, history, law, mathematics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.

 

  • Expanded Academic ASAP: Provides indexing, abstracts, and selected full text for 3,500+ scholarly journals and general interest periodicals embracing all academic disciplines including history, religion, political science and philosophy.

 

For assistance, please contact the research librarians at the Kresge Law Library by email: AskUs@nd.edu.

Kresge Law Library Footer