Library Guides: Medieval Studies: Scholarly Articles and Books

Databases-- Articles and Books

Databases are multidisciplinary collections of scholarly resources. Most databases gather links to and citations for scholarly articles, although some contain full-text access to articles, books, or both types of scholarly communication.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JStor includes the back archive of more than 2,000 journals, plus hundreds of e-books.With their "Advanced Search" function, you can perform full-text searches of these items by discipline (history, art, music, literature, etc.), by date range, or item type.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI), also known as Arts & Humanities Search, is a citation index, with abstracting and indexing for more than 1,700 arts and humanities journals, and coverage of disciplines that includes social and natural science journals.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Further, accessing Google Scholar through the library website gives you access to more information than directly accessing Google Scholar via your web browser.
MLA international bibliography (EBSCO platform) This link opens in a new window
Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Proved access to citations from worldwide publications, including periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies.
Mirabile: Digital archives for Medieval Latin culture This link opens in a new window
An online content aggregator of Medieval resources. Contains Medioevo latino : a bibliographical bulletin of European culture from Boethius to Erasmus, VI to XV centuries (MEL) ; Bibliotheca scriptorum latinorum medii recentiorisque aevi (BISLAM) ; and Compendium auctorum latinorum medii aevi (500-1500) (CALMA). Includes full-text content from several related online journals.

Books

These resources will help you find e-books and print held by Notre Dame, other local libraries, or books held at other libraries worldwide. If you can't find a book at Notre Dame or its partner libraries in the ND Catalog, try searching the catalogs of 9000 OCLC partner institutions through Worldcat. The Hathi Trust is another sizeable consortial collection of digitized books.

Hesburgh Libraries Online Catalog (ND Catalog)
ND Catalog lets you search the holdings of the Hesburgh Libraries, Kresge Law, and Holy Cross libraries' catalogs separately or together. It includes content from the University Archives, the Center for Research Libraries, and working papers from the Institute for Latino Studies.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
A worldwide union catalog created and maintained collectively by more than 9,000 OCLC member institutions. With millions of online records built from the bibliographic and ownership information of contributing libraries, it is the largest and most comprehensive database of its kind.
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A digital repository for the nation's great research libraries that brings together the immense collections of its partner institutions. It was initially conceived as a collaboration of the thirteen universities of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation, the University of California system, and the University of Virginia to establish a repository for those universities to archive and share their digitized collections, and quickly expanded to include additional partners with fast growing treasure of digitized collections.

Bibliographies

Bibliographies gather together various resources focused around specific subjects, sub-topics, fields, etc. They are an important and efficient way to begin a review of scholarly literature.

International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, notes, and similar literature on medieval subjects in journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays. Covers all aspects of medieval studies within the date range of 400 to 1500 for the entire continent of Europe, the Middle East and North Africa for the period before the Muslim conquest and parts of those areas subsequently controlled by Christian powers. Access info: Click on "Enter databases", then select International Medieval Bibliography.
Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive, current bibliography of monographs worldwide relating to the medieval period of the Western, Byzantine and Islamic world. Covers history, language and literature, philosophy and theology, art history, archaeology, and more. Access info: Click on "Enter databases", then select Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale
International bibliography of humanism and the Renaissance This link opens in a new window
An international reference bibliography of academic publications on the Renaissance and the early modern period. Indexed sources range from monographs, critical editions, translations, anthologies, miscellanies and exhibition catalogues to specialised dictionaries and encyclopaedias, handbooks, journal articles and reviews.
Mirabile: Digital archives for Medieval Latin culture This link opens in a new window
Medioevo Latino provides citations (many include abstracts) of research publications in medieval studies, compiled since 1980. The Mirabile database includes an electronic version of Medioevo Latino up to the previous year. The printed volume for the current year is available in the Medieval Institute's reading room 715E at call number CB 351 .M384.
Oxford bibliographies online. Medieval studies This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on European and Mediterranean civilization from the 4th to the 15th centuries. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.

ARC Humanities Press Charles D. Wright Medieval Bibliographies
Charles D. Wright created these bibliographies that cover most aspects of medieval life and culture and also includes a component on the Global Middle Ages. The bibliographies are hosted by ARC Humanities press, and, while some of the links are broken and the interface has not been completed, the entries that are there and functional provide lists of crucial resources with informative annotations.

Theses and Dissertations

These resources will help you find unpublished theses and dissertations, which present an author's research and findings as part of their degree candidacy or professional qualification.

ProQuest Digital Dissertations This link opens in a new window
Provides information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses, with subject, title, and author access to almost all American dissertations accepted at an accredited institution since 1861. Offers full text for most dissertations (Notre Dame and other) added since 1997. Access info: Access to full text (PDF) of Notre Dame dissertations since 1997, restricted to users with valid Notre Dame NetIDs.

CurateND
Collect your work in CurateND and share it with a worldwide audience.