History, Western Europe

Primary sources include the following types of sources: legal and judicial sources; parliamentary and political sources; taxation records; records of urban government; ecclesiastical sources; maritime and port records; chronicles, survey, and diaries; personal and biographical sources; records of professional groups. The site also has secondary sources, guides and calendars, gazetteers and dictionaries, and maps.

3 million records covering 1000 years of world history: from politics & warfare, to slavery & revolution.

A global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century.

Collection of pamphlets, letters, government files, eye witness accounts, underground magazines, visual and video materials, ephemera, and memorabilia that documents student protests, civil rights, consumerism, and the Vietnam War in the U.S. and U.K. from 1950 to 1975. Supplemented with overview essays, chronologies, a dictionary, and external links to other resources.

British State Papers from the National Archives: facsimiles of the State Papers, and fully searchable, digitized Calendars, of British State Papers from 1509 through the 18th century.

Researchers can seamlessly access the 18th, 19th, 20th and 21st century papers, and the Hansard parliamentary debates, via a single interface, cross-searching across topics to see how issues were explored and legislation formed.

Provides information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses, with subject, title, and author access to almost all American dissertations accepted at an accredited institution since 1861. Offers full text for most dissertations (Notre Dame and other) added since 1997. Access info: Access to full text (PDF) of Notre Dame dissertations since 1997, restricted to users with valid Notre Dame NetIDs.

Collection of approximately 1270 17th- and 18th-century newspapers and news pamphlets from the United Kingdom. Hesburgh Library holds the microfilm for this collection and also provides electronic access.

Two million pages of articles selected from regional and national newspapers, newspapers from country or university towns, the Midlands, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales. Includes the 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection and 19th Century Newspapers.

This database contains English-language newspapers primarily from the United States but has The Globe and Mail (1844-2009), The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003), Irish Times (1859-2011) and Weekly Irish Times (1876-1958), and The Scotsman (1817-1950).

Provides information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses, with subject, title, and author access to almost all American dissertations accepted at an accredited institution since 1861. Offers full text for most dissertations (Notre Dame and other) added since 1997. Access info: Access to full text (PDF) of Notre Dame dissertations since 1997, restricted to users with valid Notre Dame NetIDs.