Library Guides: History, Western Europe: Ireland

Overview

Corpus of Electronic Texts: Resource for Irish History, Literature, and Politics
Primary sources documenting Irish literary and historical culture. Texts are in Irish, English, Hiberno-Norman French, and Latin.
Documents of Irish Foreign Policy
Primary source material documenting the development of Irish foreign policy since 1919.
History of Ireland: Primary Documents
Links to large collection of primary sources documenting Irish history from antiquity to contemporary times. Separate link to sources for Northern Irish sources.
University College Dublin Digital Library (Irish Virtual Research Library and Archive)
Extensive digital repository of historical materials, photographs, art, interviews, letters, and other content. Includes the letters of Roger Casement to Hans Boehm, essays written by schoolchildren in 1937-38, 18th-century watercolors, religious artifacts of the Irish Franciscans, and more.

Guide to Legal Databases: Ireland
List of databases of legal resources for Ireland. Some are free; others require subscriptions.
Hesburgh Libraries Special Collections Irish Inventory

ArchiveFinder
Directory that describes more than 220,000 collections of primary-source materials located in repositories in the United States, the United Kingdom, and Ireland.
Census of Ireland 1901/1911 and Census Fragments and Substitutes, 1821-51
National Archives of Ireland

Irish newspaper archive This link opens in a new window
Largest online database of Irish newspapers with coverage ranging from the 1700s to present.
Proquest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window

Digital Photographs (National Library of Ireland)
Large collection of digital images documenting the 19th and 20th centuries, including political figures, landscapes, the Independent Newspaper collection, images created by the Lawrence Studios documenting Irish life, and more.

Northern Ireland: a divided community 1921-1972 cabinet papers of the Stormont administration This link opens in a new window
Full-text Cabinet Conclusion files of the Northern Ireland government from 1921 to 1972 including minutes and memoranda. Topics covered include prevention of incitement to religious hatred; road spiking; dock strikes; routing of Orange Day parades; role of the Ulster Defence Force; policing; prisons; the army occupation of factories

ProQuest Digital Dissertations This link opens in a new window
Provides information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses, with subject, title, and author access to almost all American dissertations accepted at an accredited institution since 1861. Offers full text for most dissertations (Notre Dame and other) added since 1997. Access info: Access to full text (PDF) of Notre Dame dissertations since 1997, restricted to users with valid Notre Dame NetIDs.

Irish History Online This link opens in a new window
A bibliography and index of historical writing dealing with Ireland's history. It is a guide to the work of historians rather than to original sources, unless they have been edited and republished by historians.