Joyce Sports Research Collection

This collection contains men’s college basketball media guides published by four-year colleges and universities in the United States and Canada. School typically published media guides on an annual basis prior to each college basketball season. The guides generally included a review of the previous season (including statistics), a preview of the upcoming season (including schedules and opponent information), and photographs and bios of players, coaches, and staff. Other content sometimes included broader information about the history of the program, the history of the institution, and other information for members of the media. Some guides contain advertisements. The media guides tend to become larger, longer, and more substantial through the years. Formats include media guides. BKC 540

This collection consists of printed media guides for women's college basketabll teams. Media guides were typically published by colleges or universities on an annual basis prior to each basketball season. The guides generally included a review of the previous season (including statistics), a preview of the upcoming season (including schedules and opponent information), and photographs and bios of players, coaches, and staff. Other content sometimes included broader information about the history of the program or of the institution. Some guides contain advertisements. Printed guides were primariy distributed to the media and were sometimes also provided to season-ticket holders or sold to fans. Media guides became increasingly popular and more substantial in the 1980s and 1990s with the growing interest in women's basketball. In the 21st century there was a marked trend towards replacing printed guides with online guides. This collection includes guides from four-year colleges and universities across the country without any real regional bias. Most guides date from the 1990s and early 2000s. Materials include printed media guides. EPH 7500

This collection consists of media guides for college basketball conferences. The media guides typically contain pictures, articles, statistics, schedules, and information about the conference teams and their players, coaches, and other personnel. The guides also usually contain administrative information about the conference, its constituent colleges/universities, historical data about the conference and other information for members of the media. The media guides tend to become larger, longer, and more substantial through the years. Some guides are fall seasonal media guides and include abbreviated sections on fall sports other than football. These are indicated by asterisks after the year in the date field. Formats include media guides. BKC 530

This collection contains winter sports media guides published by four-year colleges and universities in the United States and Canada. Earlier guides cover only men’s sports, by the 1970s and 1980 most guides include both men’s and women’s sports. The guides tend to emphasize basketball and/or ice hockey. But winter sports media guides also include information about other traditional winter sports, including wrestling, track and field, swimming and diving, and sometimes gymnastics, fencing, rifle, skiing, squash and other sports. Guides typically contain pictures, bios, statistics, and other information about players, coaches, and other personnel for fall sports teams. They also usually contain historical data about the teams, details about the schools, and other information for members of the media. The media guides tend to become larger, longer, and more substantial through the years. Formats include media guides. GEN 541

A collection of about 2600 men's college basketball programs, dating for the most part from 1940 to 1975. Approximately 600 of these were produced for tournaments, doubleheaders, or other events involving four or more teams. Larger and smaller schools from all parts of the United States are represented, with some emphasis on institutions from California. A finding aid for these materials is in progress.
BKC610