Joyce Sports Research Collection

This collection contains media guides published by National Basketball Association. The annual guides published prior to each NBA season generally included a review of the previous season (including statistics), a preview of the upcoming season (including schedules and opponent information), and photographs and bios of players, coaches, and staff. Other content sometimes included broader material about the history of the franchise, information about the city, and other information for members of the media. Some guides contain information about other personnel associated with the team including coaches, administrators, trainers, and cheerleaders. Some guides contain advertisements. The media guides tend to become larger, longer, and more substantial through the years. Formats include media guides. BKP 540

This collection contains media guides published by non-NBA major league professional basketball leagues. The collection includes media guides published by the Basketball Association of American (1946-1949) and the American Basketball Association (1967-1976). The annual guides published prior to each season generally included a review of the previous season (including statistics), a preview of the upcoming season (including schedules and opponent information), and photographs and bios of players, coaches, and staff. Other content sometimes included broader material about the history of the franchise, information about the city, and other information for members of the media. Some guides contain information about other personnel associated with the team including coaches, administrators, trainers, and cheerleaders. Some guides contain advertisements. The media guides tend to become larger, longer, and more substantial through the years. Formats include media guides. BKP 547

This collection consists of National Basketball Association annual team yearbooks. Aimed at fans, yearbooks typically contained information and articles about players, managers, and coaches, as well as statistics and schedules. Most yearbooks also featured numerous photographs of players and personnel and other team-related images. Some yearbooks contained advertisements. Formats include yearbooks. BKP 570

This collection contains nearly 1,000 programs and scorecards issued for National Basketball Association games. Teams, arenas, and other vendors published programs and scorecards for purchase by fans attending the games. The programs and scorecards usually contain at a minimum roster and lineup information and space for attendees to keep score of the game. The programs tend to become larger, longer, and more substantial over the years and sometimes contain additional information about the teams, players, coaches, and other subjects. Many programs also include advertisements. Most of the programs in the collection date from the 1950s, 1960s, and 1970s, with scattered examples from earlier and later years. BKP 610

This collection contains about 50 programs and scorecards issued for National Basketball League games. Teams, arenas, and other vendors published programs and scorecards for purchase by fans attending the games. The programs and scorecards usually contain at a minimum roster and lineup information and space for attendees to keep score of the game. The programs sometimes contain additional information about the teams, players, coaches, and other subjects. BKP 613

This collection contains about 60 programs and scorecards issued for Basketball Association of America games. Teams, arenas, and other vendors published programs and scorecards for purchase by fans attending the games. The programs and scorecards usually contain at a minimum roster and lineup information and space for attendees to keep score of the game. The programs sometimes contain additional information about the teams, players, coaches, and other subjects. BKP 615

This collection contains programs published for All-Star games by professional basketball leagues. The programs typically contain photographs, statistics, and rosters of the players on the All-Star teams. Many programs also contain articles about the history of the All-Star game, stories about the current season, information about team owners or league officials, and advertisements. BKP 625