The Joyce Sports Research Collection, Department of Special Collections, University of Notre Dame Hesburgh Libraries holds numerous annual guidebooks covering ice hockey that have been published since since the late nineteenth century. The dates that follow the guides listed on this page indicate the span of years a given title was published; available holdings are indicated in the linked catalog record or finding aid. This guide highlights annual guides held by the Joyce Sports Research Collection, Department of Rare Books and Special Collections, University of Notre Hesburgh Libraries.
Of particular note are the holdings of the Spalding (1894/95-1940/41)/ Barnes (1941/42-1949/50)/ National Collegiate Athletic Association (1951- ) annual ice hockey guides and the Hendy/National Hockey League annual guides.
Holdings of the Spalding (1898-1940/41), Barnes (1942-1950) and NCAA (1951- ) annual ice hockey guides. This sequence of titles provides historical accounts of the history of men's collegiate hockey in the United States. Guides typically recount the events of the previous season, though the earliest issues are more in the nature of rule books or instructionals. The series became formally affiliated with the NCAA in 1928/29; and by the early 1950s its coverage, which once extended to various levels of American amateur hockey, was almost exclusively collegiate.
Title: Ice Hockey and Ice Polo Guide
Publisher: New York: American Sports Publishing Company
Publication History: Annually, 1902-1906
Notes: Continuation of Ice Hockey; continued by Official Ice Hockey Guide
Location: Rare Books and Special Collections, 102 Hesburgh Library
Catalog No: Rare Small GV 847.5 .N33
Title: Official Ice Hockey Guide
Publisher: New York: American Sports Publishing Company
Publication History: Annually, 1907-1921
Notes: Continued by Official Ice Hockey Guide and Winter Sports Almanac; continuation of Ice Hockey and Ice Polo Guide
Location: Rare Books and Special Collections, 102 Hesburgh Library
Catalog No: Rare Small GV 847.5 .N33
Title: Official Ice Hockey Guide and Winter Sports Almanac
Publisher: New York: American Sports Publishing Company
Publication History: Annually, 1921-1925
Notes: Continuation of Official Ice Hockey Guide
Location: Rare Books and Special Collections, 102 Hesburgh Library
Catalog No: Rare Small GV 847.5 .N33
Title: National Collegiate Athletic Association Ice Hockey Guide
Publisher: New York: American Sports Publishing Company
Publication History: Annually, 1928/29-1940/41
Notes: Continued by The Official National Collegiate Athletic Association Ice Hockey Guide
Location: Dept. of Special Collections, 102 Hesburgh Library
Catalog No: Rare Books Small • GV 847.5 .N33
Title: The Official National Collegiate Athletic Association Ice Hockey Guide
Publisher: New York: A. S. Barnes and Company, 1942-1950; New York: National Collegiate Athletic Bureau, 1951-1966; Phoenix, AZ: College Athletics Publishing Service, 1967-1973: Shawnee Mission, KS: National Collegiate Athletic Association Publishing Service, 1974-1977; Shawnee Mission, KS: National Collegiate Athletic Association, 1978-1981
Publication History: Annually, 1942-
Notes: Continuation of National Collegiate Athletic Association Ice Hockey Guide
Location: Dept. of Special Collections, 102 Hesburgh Library
Catalog No: Rare Books Small • GV 847.5 .N33
Holdings of the Hendy/National Hockey League annual guides. James C. Hendy edited and published the first of his National Hockey Guides in 1932/33, and continued until 1950/51. The books were then published by the NHL. Under Hendy's stewardship there was significant emphasis on other professional leagues, especially the American Hockey League. The books have typically functioned as league media guides; all-time record books; and as biographical/statistical encyclopedias of current players. The biographical section was originally called Jim Hendy's Who's Who in Hockey.
Title: National Hockey Guide and Record Book
Publisher: New York: National Hockey Guide Company
Publication History: Annually, 1932/33
Notes: Continued by Official National Hockey Guide and Record Book
Location: Dept. of Special Collections, 102 Hesburgh Library
Catalog No: Rare Books Large GV 847.5 .N38
Title: Official National Hockey Guide and Record Book [Various Titles}
Publisher: New York: National Hockey Guide Company
Publication History: Annually, 1934-1948?
Location: Dept. of Special Collections, 102 Hesburgh Library
Catalog No: Rare Books Boxed GV 846 .N38 and Rare Books Small GV 846 .N38
Title: National Hockey and Winter Sports Guide
Publisher: New York: James Hendy and Company, Inc.
Publication History: Annually, 1941
Notes: Continued by The Official National Hockey Guide
Location: Dept. of Special Collections, 102 Hesburgh Library
Catalog No: Rare Books Large GV 847.5 .N38
Title: The Official National Hockey Guide and Who's Who in Hockey
Publisher: Minneapolis: Can-Am Sports Publications, 1949
Publication History: Annually, 1949
Notes: Continued by Jim Hendy's Official Professional Hockey Guide and Who's Who in Hockey; continuation of The Official National Hockey Guide
Location: Dept. of Special Collections, 102 Hesburgh Library
Call No.: Rare Books Large GV 847.5 .N38
Title: Jim Hendy's Official Professional Hockey Guide and Who's Who in Hockey
Publisher: Cleveland: Can-Am Sports Publications
Publication History: Annually, 1951
Notes: Continued by National Hockey League Press and Radio Guide; continuation of The Official National Hockey Guide and Who's Who in Hockey
Location: Dept. of Special Collections, 102 Hesburgh Library
Call No.: Rare Books Large GV 847.5 .N38
Title: National Hockey League Press and Radio Guide
Publisher: National Hockey League
Publication History: Annually, 1951/52-1963/64
Notes: Continued by National Hockey League Guide; continuation of Jim Hendy's Official Professional Hockey Guide and Who's Who in Hockey
Location: Dept. of Special Collections, 102 Hesburgh Library
Call No.: Rare Books Large GV 847.5 .N38
Title: National Hockey League Guide
Publisher: National Hockey League
Publication History: Annually, 1964/65-1981/82
Notes: Continued by NHL Official Guide; continuation of National Hockey League Press and Radio Guide
Location: Dept. of Special Collections, 102 Hesburgh Library
Call No.: Rare Books Large 847.5 .N38
Title: NHL Official Guide
Publisher: National Hockey League
Publication History: Annually, 1982/83-1983/84
Notes: Continued by National Hockey League Official Guide and Record Book; continuation of National Hockey League Guide
Location: Dept. of Special Collections, 102 Hesburgh Library
Call No.: Rare Books Large 847.5 .N38
Title: National Hockey League Official Guide and Record Book
Publisher: National Hockey League
Publication History: Annually, 1984/85-2005
Notes: Continuation of NHL Official Guide
Location: Dept. of Special Collections, 102 Hesburgh Library
Call No.: Rare Books Large 847.5 .N38