The Joyce Sports Research Collection, Department of Special Collections, University of Notre Dame Hesburgh Libraries holds numerous periodical publications that covered ice hockey in North America.
The Hockey News began publishing in 1947 in Montreal and then was published in Toronto (1980). This newspaper typically appeared from 35 to 40 times per year, weekly during the NHL season and monthly during the summer. Coverage emphasizes North American professional hockey, especially the National Hockey League.
Title: The Hockey News
Publisher: Montreal: Ken-Will Publishing, 1947-1980.
Publication History: Initially 35 issues per year (1947-1972).
Location: Rare Books and Special Collections, 102 Hesburgh Library
Catalog No.: Rare Books Oversize GV 846 .H6
Title: Blueline
Publisher: Montreal: Blueline Publishing
Publication History: 9 issues/yr, 1954/55; 7 issues/yr, 1955/56; 9 issues/yr, 1956/57; 7 issues/yr, 1957/58; 8 issues/yr, 1958/59
Location: Department of Special Collections, 102 Hesburgh Library
Catalog No.: Rare Books Boxed GV 846 .B58
Title: Hockey Pictorial
Publisher: Montreal: Hockey Illustrated Ltd., 1956-59, 1963-71; Rouses Point, NY: Hockey Illustrated Ltd., 1960-62; Montreal: Ken-Will Publishing, 1972-73
Publication History: 8 issues, 1955/56-1958/59; 7 issues/yr, 1959/60; 8 issues/yr, 1960/61-1964/65; 7 issues/yr, 1966/67-1968/69; 6 issues/yr, 1969/70; 7 issues/yr, 1970/71-1972/73; 6 issues/yr, 1973/74; 7 issues/yr, 1974/75-1975/76; 8 issues/yr, 1976/77-1978/79; 7 issues/yr, 1979/80
Location: Department of Special Collections, 102 Hesburgh Library
Catalog No.: Rare Books Boxed GV 846 .H63
Title: Hockey Illustrated
Publisher: New York, NY: Complete Sports Publications, 1961-81
Publication History: 5 issues/yr, 1962/63; 6 issues/yr, 1963/64-1966/67; 7 issues/yr, 1967/68-1970/71; 8 issues/yr, 1971/72-1973/74; 5 issues/yr, 1975-1978; 4 issues/yr, 1979-1981
Location: Department of Special Collections, 102 Hesburgh Library
Joyce Series No.: Rare Books Boxed GV 846 .H635
Title: Hockey World
Publisher: Montreal: Ken-Will Publishing
Publication History: 7 issues/yr, 1966/67; 8 issues/yr, 1967/68; 7 issues/yr, 1968/69; 8 issues/yr, 1969/70-1974/75; 7 issues/yr, 1975/76
Location: Department of Special Collections, 102 Hesburgh Library
Catalog No.: Rare Books Boxed • GV 846 .H636