Library Guides: Newspapers: Historical--Non-United States

Aggregators

These databases hold many newspapers and news sources, which may be searched by title.

In Factiva, click on Search in the top menu. A Free Text Search will open; go to All Sources and click on the + to chose the region and locality you want, down to the title. Click on the blue triangle to insert that publication's search code into the search field. Click Search. If no results are returned it means the library's subscription does not include that newspaper.
To search by title in Nexis Uni, click on the downward red arrow following the "All Nexis Uni" command. Enter your title into the search box (e.g., "New Zealand Herald"). As you type, sources will auto-fill in below the search box.

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) daily reports This link opens in a new window
Provides US government translations of radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories, from 1941-1996.
World news connection This link opens in a new window
Provides English translations of news sources prepared by the U.S. government from around the world. Successor to the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS). Current through 2013.

World Newspaper Archive
Includes papers from Africa; Mexico, Central America, the Caribbean, and South America; and South Asia (India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka).

African newspapers, 1800-1922 (from World Newspaper Archive with CRL) This link opens in a new window
Includes dozens of newspapers published during the long nineteenth century in Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda, and Zimbabwe.

The following is only suggestive. For more newspaper resources, see the libguides for East Asian Studies Databases & eJournals, Japanese Studies, Korean Studies, and Philippine Studies.

Asian News Archives on the Web
Find news from Asian newspapers going back as far as 25 years.

Shen Bao (1872-1949) This link opens in a new window
Shen Bao 申報 (1872-1949), known in English as Shanghai News, was one of the first modern Chinese newspapers. The Shen Bao Digital Archive includes a complete run of this newspaper--256,000 issues. It is full-text searchable, and contains scanned images of original newspaper pages.

South Asian Newspapers (from the World Newspaper Archive)
Offers 10 newspapers from India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka, with coverage from 1864 through 1922.

Naver 뉴스 라이브러리 = Naver nyusŭ laibŭrŏri
Naver News Library is a full-text Korean newspaper article database containing the following four major newspapers: Tonga ilbo (Dong-A ilbo) 1920-1999; Kyŏnghyang sinmun (Kyunghyang Shinmun) 1946-1999; Maeil kyŏngje sinmun (Maeil Business Newspaper) 1966-1999; and Han'gyŏre (The Hankyoreh ) 1988-1999.

Russian Central newspapers This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage of national news, current events, economic developments and cultural events in Russia from official sources (Rossiiskaia gazeta, Krasnaia zvezda, ITAR-TASS), independent media and partisan publications. Includes the English-language newspaper Moscow times. Cross searchable on East Views' Universal Databases platform.
Russian regional newspapers This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text newspaper coverage from all seven Federal Districts of the Russian Federation. Covers local issues for Moscow and St. Petersburg. Selected newspapers have the largest circulation in their regions. Cross searchable on East Views' Universal Databases platform.

Times digital archive, 1785-1985 (London) This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of full-text and full-image articles from the Times of London for the years 1785-1985. Digital reproduction, cover to cover, of the paper in PDF files. Includes advertisements, illustrations, and photos.

Niupepa: Māori Newspapers
A collection of newspapers published primarily for a Māori audience between 1842 and 1932, from the New Zealand Digital Library.
Papers Past: Digitised New Zealand Newspapers
Search by keyword or region.
See this libguide for more Oceania:

Catholic Newspapers in Microform: A Directory of Works at Notre Dame
An online list of Catholic newspapers in microfilm, held at Hesburgh Library. Most of the newspapers are American, but a few are from Canada, the UK, and the Vatican.

The library holds many newspapers on microfilm. Use OneSearch to find these by newspaper title.